Punk & Oi In The UK - Take Me Home
Email  |  Mailing List  |   facebook.com/punkoiuk
Information on the current Punk & Oi  scene
No Judgement
Punk & Oi In The UK - banner  
Reviews - Go to latest Reviews
And The Rest

Month: October 06



Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Music Releases

ALLEGED BRICKS - Place Your Blame (Street Anthem Records)

website

Forming in 2000 and featuring ex members of Scream and Rodent, Alleged Bricks play gruff sounding hardcore in a similar style to Agnostic Front. This c.d. has some great sing a long hardcore songs with standout tracks being ‘Dig You Grave’ and ‘Backpack’ which shares my view on Emo and contains the lyrics ‘ Black painted nails on pseudo intellectuals. who play fake hardcore for metrosexuals. tight jeans and Beatles haircuts, all you assholes fucking suck’ This is angry fuelled hardcore at it’s brutal best and well worth checking out. For more details go to www.allegedbricks.com or www.myspace.com/allegedbricks
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



AUTOMATICS - Brittania (Dork Records)

website

Now if this is the same band I think they were around in 1977 and had an album recorded which was never released until a few years back, if not ignore the last comments. According to the words in the cover ‘this is a collection of songs that are an attempt to sift through conflicting emotions that I have about my native country’ written by an ex pat living in L.A. but who was brought up in Africa and the Far East educated in England. All the tracks have references to Britain/England in the title and according to Dave Philp- the man responsible for the majority of this album- it’s is own version of a National Anthem. I say the majority of the album as Mike Rossi co wrote one song and Steve Jones plays guitar on 1 track. So in goes the c.d and it’s kicks off with a brass band which then descends into an almost folk style tune akin to the Levellers which is definitely good enough to be a chart hit if given a push in the right direction. The rest of the album is melodic 77 style sing a long pop with punk overtones and after a few plays you will probably find yourself singing along to most of the songs. An album I thought I probably wouldn’t like but it took me by surprise and if you like the Levellers or maybe Squeeze it will probably get you as well. All in all an excellent c.d for more details go to www.theautomatics.com
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



BLACK RADIO - No Frills, No Skills, Stripped Down Faster Than Your V8 (from the band)

This cd is promotional only, but the title does what it says on the tin – you get what you read. Very much my cup of tea – in your face hardcore punk. Short but brief and straight to the point / fast as fuck just a pity there is only 4 tracks but what the fuck Black Radio do it for me. I can’t really say much about Black Radio cos’ I have not heard of them before. Stripped down diy punk – excellent. The only knock back from me is there are not enough tracks – c’mon get your punk asses doing more stuff. A punk band for the future and they will hopefully give al the poppy punk and emo shit a run for the money. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Review by Andy



BOILER - Nem Birunk Mar Magunkkal (?)

website

If you can understand the title of this album you are either Hungarian or have an interest in foreign languages, unless you’re Hungarian then it will be my typing that’s in a foreign tongue. According to the short press release with this the band are the best Hungarian streetrock band and have played with band ssuch as Agnostic Front, Exploited and Klasse Kriminal. The band describe their sound as a mix of early Oi and Motorhead style rock n roll but they also have keyboards thrown in that add a strange ska/Chas N Dave sound. The first two tracks remind me of the Angelic Upstarts, track one ‘Police Oppression’ track 2 ‘Women in Disguise’ but the third is a full on thrash assault. Track four is sort of thrash rock n roll and the last song sees the band back to the Upstarts style but with a sing a long chorus. My Hungarian isn’t what it used to be so I can’t tell you what the songs are about but I don’t think the band are singing about peace and love. I’ve heard better, I’ve heard worse but for me the fast as hell 3rd track is the best out of the bunch. For more details go to http://boiler.skinhead.hu or www.myspace.com/szarzeneboiler
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



BREAKNECK - And There Was Another Illusion (From the band)

website

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no NO!!!! This is so wrong on so many levels, from the Iron Maiden/Thin Lizzy style guitar harmonies to the NICE vocals and the ‘clever’ drumming, the list could go on. This band could play most bands I’ve seen or heard (bearing in mind I’ve seen over 3,000 bands live) well under the table, the musicianship is some of the best I have ever heard the problem is the band don’t have any songs. What I mean by this is that the band bombard you with so many different things going on at once that you end up with instantly forgettable noodling. I listened to this c.d. on repeat about 6 times and I still couldn’t tell you any of the words, even though they are as clear as a bell. Far too much going on for me but to say they can play is a bit of an understatement, give me the Ramones any day. Go to www.myspace.com/breackneckpunk to see what I’m waffling on about.
2 out of 5
Review by Paul



BULLET KINGS - Porno Pig (From the band)

website

So I get up on Saturday morning and there’s a little package on the floor addressed to yours truly, I think ‘not another wad of cash from my Swiss bank account (I wish!!)’ no it’s another cd from Mr C.J. Arnfield, who is probably familiar to some of you as the guitarist in A.F.S. and Churchill. How many bloody bands can one man be in? He‘s already in the 2 I just mentioned as well as Worm so he must more time on his hands than anything else and after a quick skeg ont’ net Wilf from Churchill is the bassist. Anyway enough of my hungover warblings you want to know what it sounds like, well it’s good old fashioned punk rock, nothing flash or fancy just good angry punk rock with some clever guitar work, I’m not gonna bore you with the technicalities of it but the sliding guitar in the 1st song is a very, very clever way to put a hook into a song. For more details go to www.myspace.com/thebulletkings
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



CORPS - Itchin' For Evil (From the band)

email

7 tracks of gruff vocal style streetpunk which at times reminded me of Anti Seen. Along with the 5 of their own songs you get covers of Johnny Cash’s ‘Don’t Take You’re Guns To Town’ and Peter and The Test Tube Babies ‘Nutter’. Overall the band have a good sound apart from the guitar solos, they have a very thin weedy sound to them and if anything detract from the songs rather than enhancing them. No web details so if you want more details email punisher_attack@hotmail.com
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



D.R.I - Dirty Rotten L.p. (on Cd) (Beer City)

website

D.R.I’s 1st album as it appeared on vinyl, no re-mastering or mixing just the original as it appeared in 1983 with the original track order. This was released before but was remixed and the song order was altered but seeing as so many people asked for the real thing Beer City have put out just that. The original artwork is included, although the back cover is slightly different, and the lyrics have been retyped so you can read them. To say this album is groundbreaking is a bit of an understatement, in 1983 there was no band around like D.R.I. they played very fast, loud, snotty thrash punk songs the like of which hadn’t been seen before. The 23 songs on this c.d have a running time of 1 second over 18 minutes, now that’s fast, and the intesity of the songs is still there over 20 years on and the lyrics to ‘Closet Punk’ are probably more relevant today than they have ever been. This is a band who would play 40 or more songs in a 30 minute live set, brilliant in their own special way and an essential purchase for anyone who is into early 80’s U.S. thrash punk. Don’t take my word for it just get out there and buy this NOW it could be the best 18 minutes 1 second you ever have. For more details go to www.dri1.com or www.beercity.com
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



DEADLINE - Hanging On The Telephone (People Like You)

What can we say, it’s all been said before – well that’s my view. Touring constantly, pulling in the punters, Deadline always make time to come and see us in Leeds. Same old faces, time after time and still so refreshing gig after gig. Always the whole band are up for it, and they are great value for money and produced good albums. For such a tiny and petite young lady, Liz throws out the punches. She has a very special front’s person manner for this exceptional band. How such a small framed lady can throw out such fab vocals, so powerful to make you take note. Liz does have a great body with fab tats and she does turn heads. well the single sounds excellent. What a fab cover to do. Hanging On the Telephone by Blondie in the 80’s was a classic; well this is just the same classic. Makes you sing-along proud as punch. 2 other tracks are also good and there is the bonus video with a classing thumping tune called Long Way Home. Deadline are a top street punk band who rub shoulders with the best past and present. If you are new to Deadline give ‘em a changed, you will not be at all disappointed. And get off your arse and see em’ yourself. See you in Leeds / Sheffield / Morecambe / Blackpool soon. Excellent.
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



DEFIANCE,OHIO - The Great Depression (NO IDEA)

website

Well where to start, this is a 13 track cd lasting just under half an hour. It hits you from the start of the first track, this is Cumbawamba style played in an Irish way. It's kinda slow Pogues/Dropkicks but with the song content and arrangement which makes it very reminicent of Chumba. It's a combination I've not come across before but boy does it work!! You also get a fold out sheet inside with all the words done in the Crass style. All in all well worth checking out.
4 out of 5
Review by Steff



DIABOLLOCKS - Self Titled E.p. (From the band)

website

Crap name, bog standard punk with New York Dolls style vocals on 1 track other than that I can’t tell you owt. Nothing out of the ordinary and it won’t change the world. Go to www.diabollocks.com for more info.
2 out of 5
Review by Paul



DIE HUNNS - You Rot Me (People Like You Records)

website

Bit of a weird one this c.d. I wasn’t expecting an album of Iggy Pop meets Tom Waits style ramblings. U.S. Bombs leader Duane Peters has a similar growl to Mr. Waits but then it takes a bit of a lighter tone when Corey Parks-former Nashville Pussy bassist- takes over on the vocal duties. The tunes also reminded me of Rocket From The Crypt without the brass section but to be brutally honest it wasn’t really my thing. For more detils go to www.myspace.com/diehunns
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



DUN 2 DEF - Every Weekend (Lick My Records)

website email

10 track album from a band I know nothing about other than they are from somewhere in the U.K. and have 2 singers. The bands’ sound reminds me of the U.K. Subs for some reason or another, especially the slower songs, but the bands faster stuff is a lot faster than the Subs play. This is good old fashioned punk rock, not thrash, not metal, definitely not emo, nothing more nothing less and that is a plus as it is. Couple this with a band that can play and have some great tunes and you have a pretty good band that is well worth checking out. For more details go to www.myspace.com/dun2def or email ferret@punkwatts1977.freeserve.co.uk
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



FIFTH HOUR HERO - Not Revenge.....just A Vicious Crush (No Idea Records)

website

Quebec band Fifth Hour Hero have been around in various guises since 1997 but this is my first hearing of the band and for some reason I found myself liking their brand of power pop/ punk. Coming across as a mixture of Leatherface, albeit without the gravel, and Foo Fighters style power pop/harmonies with a touch of Bad Religion’s tunes. The twin female/male vocals work very, very well and add a touch of originality which is always good to see. Not a band I thought I would have liked after reading the press release/cd cover but there is definitely something instantly likeable about this lot. For more details go to www.fifthhourhero.com
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



FLOGGING MOLLY - Whiskey On A Sunday (Side ONe Dummy Records)

website

Another cd/dvd package that features 5 live fan favourite songs, 4 acoustic tracks, a new studio recording and a 106 minute documentary with extras. The live tracks are up tempo full on Irish party songs whereas the acoustic stuff slows it down a bit, the is Flogging Molly so you know what you’re gonna get. The dvd was shot over a 2 year period across 7 countries and follows the band from playing in small bars to the success they have now achieved and includes footage of the band in the studio, on tour, at home and at their sold out homecoming show in L.A. If you’re a newcomer to this band this is an excellent starting point to introduce you to the bands’ hi octane Irish folk punk stylings. For more info go to www.floggingmolly.com
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



GBH - Punk Junkies (SOS Records)

GBH have been around for years, just like me. Well that’s how I feel sometimes, but GBH are like breathing. As a young man I stood outside Dingwalls in Sheffield queuing to get in, shitting my pants eager to see what everyone was talking about. These punks from Birmingham called GBH seem to have a big following outside never mind inside. I stood waiting and waiting and a 15 year old man is very nervous. Then this big mowhalk said got a smoke, I replied sorry I don’t smoke in a high pitched voice, he asked ‘seen ‘em before’ and I answered no – fucking brill they are. This eased my dreading thought and started my love affair with GBH. The gig was amazing, just like they are still are. I love to get up, but being a wee lad, get the shit kicked out of me soon numb but I don’t mind at all. Over the years I followed GBH on Attack By Rats tour and so on. The years passed by the albums flowed as much as the JD & coke and GBH have produced some excellent stuff and yes I am a sick boy, but this cd is one of my favs. The Exploited & Broken bones did the punk / metal cross over well, but I hate to say that GBH failed in my eyes. It’s still a good cd and being a big fan you forgive and forget as all these years I think you are allowed one slightly off target cd. GBH still light my fuse. I will be at the front again getting the shit kicked out of me at Blackpool but that’s punk. Carry on GBH, although it’s not a new cd.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



HATEFUL - Diamond Among The Coal (Rebellion Records Holland)

website

12 track c.d. from this Scottish band which kicks off with a song that has a chorus that took me ages to think where I’d heard it before, it’s the same as Do Re Me So Far So God by Carter USM. Anyway that aside the band play tuneful old school style punk rock with a few more up tempo songs thrown in for good measure, with a vocal style that for some reason reminds me of Rick from the Negatives. Along with 10 tracks of their own the band have put music to ‘Twat’ originally a poem by John Cooper Clarke and what I think is a Gallagher and Lyle cover. This a great c.d. and if you like your stuff tuneful with good lyrics you could do a lot worse then getting hold of this. For more info go to www.hateful.fsnet.co.uk
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



JOAN JETT AND THE BLACKHEARTS - Sinner (BLACKHEART RECORDS)

website

The info which comes from this says that this album is a thrilling restatement of her original punk roots. Well you get 14 tracks (51 mins +) plus bonus enhanced footage. Whilst I wouldn't disagree that the tracks (sometimes musically and vocally) are basically punk orientated most of the music is a little bit too smooth/pop punky/easy listening punk (is there such a thing??). But I'm sure that this will be well received by her army of fans out there, and whilst there's nothing wrong with it, I find it lacks that edge (possibly not live) that I would expect from a cd submitted to a punk website.
3 out of 5
Review by Steff



JUNIOR VARSITY - The Great Compromise (Victory Records)

website

Formed in Illinois in 2002 the Junior Varsity play ‘prog tinged pop rock’ according to the press bumf, well to me it’s more like emo without the shouting. Anyway gripes apart for fans of this band you get a lot for your money, 11 tracks make up the album proper, 8 bonus songs plus a dvd which has live tracks and some extras on it. Not something I would ever buy so I’m probably not the best person to review this. Go to www.thejuniorvarsity.com for more details about the band.
2 out of 5
Review by Paul



KRUM BUMS - The Sound (Punx Rules Records)

website

Welcome to the world of the Krum Bums which is a world populated by people who ruin lives, politicians who pump people full of lies, people trying to stand up for themselves, people who are killing other people because of misinterpretation, the real world we are all living in today. Krum Bums come from Texas and sound pretty pissed off with the world today and the 12 tracks on here let you know exactly how they feel. This is one of the best punk albums I’ve heard in a long time, fast, loud, abrasive and with something to say, but without the message being preached or rammed down your throat. If you want a different view from the cosy world people pretend to live in I’d get hold of this to jar you back into reality. For more details go to www.krumbums.com
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



LITTERBUG - Speaking Through The Gaps (JSNTGM Records)

website

This is a debut cd of 7 tracks lasting just over 22 minutes from this Blackpool band. The info which comes with it says "combining unusual yet harmonious vocal lines and dischordant guitars..." and this just about sums up the whole cd. Back in the early 80's this would have been classed under the indie/alternative kind of banner. All the tracks were first takes recorded in Berlin with a minimum afterwork to ensure that the raw feel of the songs didn't get lost.Anyway you can check out their website for more info.
2 out of 5
Review by Steff



MONSTER SQUAD/ OBTRUSIVE SPLIT C.D. - Kill The Silence (Bad Man RecordsT.S.O.R. Records)

website

7 track split cd from two band I know very little about with each band alternating between the tracks. First up are Monster Squad, who I think are from California, and they give us a great sing a long streetpunk song with ‘All Out of Control’ which has nods towards The Casualties et al before Obtrusive burst on with a fast hardcore song. Not too sure about Obtrusive but I think they may be from Germany judging by the .de web address. Monster Squads 2nd song is a very fast punk song a bit like a rougher sounding G.B.H which is mirrored by Obtrusives’ 2nd offering. As split cd’s go this is pretty damn good as both bands play a similar style of music but each has it’s own feel and the bands complement each other rather than one being better than the other. 2 good bands on 1 cd my only qualm is that it’s too short and I can’t wait to hear more from both bands. For more info go to www.monstersquadpunks.net www.obtrusive-punx.de or either band myspace sites www.myspace.com/monstersquadpunks and www.myspace.com/obtrusive respectively
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



NO THRILLS - Off The Rails (From the band)

website email

Not heard of this lot before but judging by the fact 3 of the 10 songs on here were recorded in 1998 the band have been around for a while. The band play good sounding punk rock which at times reminds me of One Way System (the faster songs) and Resistance 77 on the mid paced stuff. I particularly liked ‘Fake I.D’ a song about the fact that punk styles have now been picked up by the high street trendy shops and now every other bloke has a small mohawk in the middle of his head-even though they wouldn’t know what punk was if it hit them in the face. If you want tuneful no nonsense punk you could do a lot worse than picking this up. For more details go to www.no-thrills.co.uk or email tom-bell@tiscali.co.uk
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



OUTBREAK - Failure (Bridge Nine Records)

website

Hailing from Maine, Outbreak’s debut album- ‘Failure’ clocks in an impressive 16 tracks in a little over 20 minutes. No Emo whining on here just full on fast as fuck hardcore punk with a genuine pissed off sound. All this from a band who judging by the cover photo are not much over 20. If you like it fast, hard and pissed off this is a must have. For more info go to www.outbreakhc.com
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



PAMA INTERNATIONAL - The Trojan Sessions (Trojan Records/Sanctuary Records)

website

Pama International are the first band Trojan Records have signed for 30 years and on this their 4th c.d. the band have pulled out all the stops to bring out one of the best ska/dub/reggae albums of the last few years. With an all star line up including Lynval Golding and Horace Panter in the band and legendary reggae producer Nick Mannaseh at the helm you get 11 tracks that are a welcome addition to anyone’s Trojan collection. The album also features guest appearances from some very big names in the world of reggae including Dawn Penn, Rico Rodriguez, Dennis Alcapone, Derrick Morgan and Dave and Ansel Collins-who have recorded their first track together since 1969. If you like ska, reggae, rocksteady or dub you would be a fool to pass up this c.d. get out there and buy this NOW!!!! For more details go to www.pamainternational.co.uk
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



ROGER MIRET AND THE DISASTERS - My Riot (People Like You Records)

website

Agnostic Fronts’ Roger Miret 3rd outing with the Disasters gives you 16 tracks of rock n roll sounding streetpunk which has The Clash written all over it. The influence of Joe Strummer et al is evident throughout but that doesn’t mean to say it’s just a rip off, the band still have enough of their own style to make it interesting. Good sing a long anthems come thick and fast and you will be singing these songs for weeks after listening to this. I suppose the nearest thing we have to the band over here in the U.K. is probably Goldblade which can’t be a bad thing. A definite addition to anyone’s collection. For more details go to www.thedisasters.com
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



RUM RUNNERS - Guns At Cyrano's (Longshot/ Stumble Records)

website

12 track full length album from a Canadian band who I reviewed a 7” vinyl single by a while back with one of the tracks from that release being the last one on here. If you haven’t heard of this band they play a mix up of country and western with folk all with a punk attitude, sort of Pogues mixed with Dropkick Murphys with a dash of Nashville thrown in for good measure. The album rattles through it’s 12 tracks at a good pace and other than pausing for a slow almost ballad like song it’s upbeat stuff all the way. I listened to this at work but I reckon it would sound a hell of a lot better after a few beers and in good company, I’d love to see the band live as if they can put across on stage what they have on here they could be almost unstoppable. For more details go to www.rumrunner.cjb.net
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



STORIES - God Save The Queen/eton Rifles (Heresoneiknockedupinmyshedearlier records ltd)

website

2 track cd single from a band who haven’t sent any info about either the band or the cd so I am pretty limited as to what I can tell you about the band. Anyway what you get is 2 covers which should need no introduction and they sound not too far removed from the originals. You know the band that appear at your local pub one Saturday a month well this band could be them and who knows if you are from wherever the band are from they could be. A bit of originality would have been good. No contact details.
2 out of 5
Review by Paul



UFX - Crack (thundersqueal records)

website

This band originally started out as Uncle Fester playing trashy rock and roll and released 3 self financed albums.As the bands sound evolved from it's punk beginings and the cartoon like name of Uncle Fester started to become "something of a millstone" the band decided to rename themselves early in 2006 to coincide with the release of their new album "Crack". This has a punk/rock/metal/motorheadish kind of meld. It's got good tempo and sophisticated guitar work. You may already have seen the band as they played at The West Coast Rock Cafe in Blackpool at the aftershow party at Wasted this year.
3 out of 5
Review by Steff



UK DEATH CHARGE VS NOCTOPHYLE - On The Streets (Spitting Teeth Records)

website

14 track split c.d. from 2 bands I know nothing about. First up are UK Depth Charge who play diy style punk with lyrics similar to 3CR, well I think they do but to be honest the recorded was that quiet I couldn’t really make out what was going on. The band aren’t gonna change the world but it’s still listenable and funny at times. Noctophyle play similar sounding stuff but are a bit heavier and have rougher sounding vocals and for me are the better of the 2 bands. This is no frills diy punk and other than UK Depth Charge being a bit on the quiet side is a pretty good c.d. For more details go to www.myspace.com/ukdeathcharge or www.noctophyle.com
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



VARIOUS - Warped Tour 2006 Compilation (Side One Dummy)

website

2 discs of Emo, Screamo and everything Inbetweeno. Side One Dummy give you 2 discs from the bands that have appeared at this year Warped Tour and you certainly get a lot for your money, 51 tracks in all. As compilations go it has just about enough to keep you interested as along with the likes of Matchbook Romance and Saves The Day you get bands such as No FX, The Casualties and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. A lot of the songs veer into MTV2 territory i.e. a bit pop punk, tattoos and bad haircuts, which for me is a bit of a disappointment, but the kids may get into some different bands if they buy this so it might not all be bad. You pays your money etc etc etc. For more details go to www.sideonedummy.com
2 out of 5
Review by Paul



VARIOUS - Hometown Pride (Pekka Productions)

website

Bit of an odd one this, 16 tracks of punk and hardcore all from Lahti in Finland, all the bands on here are from the same town and it would seem that they have quite a good scene going on up there in the frozen North. 9 bands make up the rosta and 1st up are Morning After, who according to the press release are one of the oldest hardcore bands in Finland, they play extreme metal sounding hardcore complete with gruff vocals, one track is flat out fast their other more like a heavier version of Agnostic Front. Next up are End Begins who carry on in the same vein, brutal fast hardcore and to be honest the differences between the 2 bands isn’t that great. Pekka and the Other Losers are up next who play rock n roll sounding punk sung by a bear, their description not mine!!! the music is alright but I’m not too keen on the vocal style. Viceroy then give you 2 tracks of very fast but harmonic punk which reminded me of a speeded up, heavier version of The Offspring. 7th Legion are next with 2 tracks of Blood for Blood style hardcore, but again a little faster and heavier, this is followed by Pitfiend who play extreme metal a bit like Earth Crisis or later Napalm Death. Camorra’s 2 tracks are slower than most of the bands on here but the style is still full on brutal hardcore but with a bit of metal thrown in. The last 2 tracks are from St. Hood and Flippin’ Beans respectively, St. Hood play double bass drum metal hhardcore whilst the Flippin’ Beans track has a sort of Rancid vs rock n roll feel to it. All in all if you like yer hardcore this could well be for you, if you like things a bit more melodic I’d leave alone. For more info go to www.pekkaproductions.com
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



ZEEB? - The Battle For Zeeb? (Corndog Records)

website

Other than telling you what this band sound like I can’t give you any info on them as my internet connection at work has been removed!!! What I can tell you is this band are a little different to most of the stuff I get to review, it’s not what I’d call punk, it’s not emo, it’s not metal but what it is is pretty damn good. The first of the 5 tracks is a sort of a metal/surf crossover instrumental which works really well. The rest of the c.d. has good tunes which remind me of a less feminine Placebo playing early Nirvana style songs. Excellent production throughout helps everything come out nice and clear and it would appear the band have taken their time to dish out the goods. This won’t appeal to everyone, it’s a long way removed from 3 chord punk, but if you can tear yourself away from the nostalgic ramblings of some punk has been you may even like this, I for one would like to hear more from the band. For more details go to www.zeeb.co.uk or ww.myspace.com/zeeb
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

DVD / Video

D.O.A. - Live at the Assignation Club (Cherry Red Records)

D.O.A. can’t say much about these fella’s from Canada that’s because I knew nothing of them until I reviewed this DVD. They formed around 78 and were involved in the punk movement in the early 80’s. Their break came with their release ‘Disco Sucks’ giving a base board to still travel the world playing shows at punk festivals nearly 30 years on. Successful bands such as Rancid, Green Day openly admit they were influenced by DOA. DOA is very proud to lie what they mean with a DIY ethic and political beliefs. The DVD is set in Leeds in 84, plus some bonus footage. This should be very enjoyable to all hardcore punks which in 84 we were all condemned to the gutter and swept under the carpet. DOA blast thought the set at the Beerkeller, or should I s\ay the infamous Beerkeller. Start to finishes it is hardcore through and through – a most open mouthed gig from these Canadian Punx.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy




FRANTIC FLINTSTONES - The Frantic Flintstones Story (Cherry Red Records)

Chuck and the Frantic Flintstones have been around since the mid eights belting out some quite extraordinary psychobilly riffs all mixed up pin their own style of mayhem and clouded in sea of haze. Now looking on new ventures across the pond where the FF psycobilliy’s await. This DVD the sorry of… does capture 2 full shows fronted by Chuck who is a legend in himself. There is also a previously unseen documentary footage which is mainly shot by the band themselves. This DVD takes you back in time when Chuck and the FF were new to the game, but don’t let that put you off.. It opens the FF way, Chuck singing from the heart, about nit just his experiences with drugs but also brushes with the law. Over the years some of the best loved anthems have been produced by not just Chuck but the different band members that have come and gone. Loose your self in the FF haze.
4 out of 5
Review by Andy




GUN CLUB - Live At The Hacienda 1983/84 (Cherry Red Records)

Not one of my favs. I suppose if you were around then Gun Club were a rock band who everyone looked up to. A bit like Nirvana of more recent times. 2 very different shows with different line-ups, both at the Hacienda in Manchester. No thrills, full of aggression, splitting riffs, tribal style rock with punk – very effective. Theirs was a thought out, well documented career. Gun Club and Jeff Lee Pierce would fall over each other in a drunken stupor igniting very good rock / punk. This is a good cd.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy




LEGEND OF THE KREMAN - Live @ Billys & promos (Cherry Red Records)

Rockabilly band the Kreman do pump it. Slap bass thumping that is my kinda stuff. Early 80’s rockabilly who toured relentlessly around the UK and Europe. The Krewman soon took the realm of packed shows. Over the yeas they put out 7 albums and sold thousands becoming one of the most sought after band. These are excellent promo’s but good old psycho gig at Billy’s stated off with the king of punk Joe Strummer’s ‘Should I stay Or Should I Go’ they should stay! Excellent cover.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy




WENDY O WILLIAMS - Wendy O Williams Live DVD (Cherry Red Records)

Started way back in the late 70’s, no one could have imaged what road this band could have taken. Very in your face rock n’roll. In the early 80’s my distant memory was that lovely black tape over Wendy’s boobs hiding her nips. On a serious not, the Plasmatics and Wendy O Williams were fruit cakes that at times produced some excellent punk. On stage antics plus outrages visuals and top dress sense spring to mind time after time. Tragically Wendy committed suicide in 1998 after leaving the music industry. She is sadly missed by her fans. The DVD does contain footage to he sell out crowds with legends of metal Lemmy & Wurzel. Never would a band get away with a career like this nowadays. A must for Wendy O Williams fans, but leave this DVD alone of you are not familiar.
2 out of 5
Review by Andy




Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Fanzines / Books

Sorry no fanzine reviews this month, please get in touch if you have any you would like including

Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Gigs

BARNYARD MASTERBATER,THE BUCK BROS,THE NAGS THE VARUKERS - Leicester, Attik (13/10/06)

Well friends back on the punk rock trail and tonight i am at the attick i love this place well small so you only have to get 20 people in and your packed !! Ok loads of people out tonight to catch up with , daz from the nags old discharge fan like me , a plug for the fans of discharge there as they are playing lecister on the 11th of november first time in 20 odd years can not wait ok masterbater are up next , with there own brand of punk rock a short set as the time is running late tonight , but good soild punk rock here !! Ok the buck bros never heard of them before but i liked em very much like uk subs i thought , with there own songs really enjoyed them , and they bought some of there own fans with them to , ok the nags are up next they are a local band , but i really like this band they seem to get better and better, very expoilted me thinks mixed with discharge and gbh , and gism jap hard care , a cracking tight as fuck set as usal from these guys well times running and there is anothere band spitroast but i miss them , and the varukers i seem most of , how do you sleep ,die for your goverment,the usal set but i must admit this band do get better , a really enjoyable night , and see you lot here i this town for discharge next and up ythe punx
Reviewed by Adam Ward




OSAKA POPSTAR - Edinburgh ()

I was really excited as I knew Osaka Popstar were going to be special guests on the UK tour of the Misfits. I knew I would go and see them.

Anyway I arrived at the Liquid Room early in the afternoon, sorry Marky about the rain we had in the afternoon as I said to you when we were chatting, Friday was lovely in Edinburgh, it would have been nice if it had continued for your visit to Edinburgh which by the way was great to welcome you back I have happy memories of your last visit to Edinburgh . As I was going to be meeting with Jon Connor thanks for all your help Jon. Anyway went to the pub tp shelter out of the rain next door and met Jon there who introduced me to three nice chaps one was from Crashed Out who were playing that night and had also played in Durham the night before. The other two guys were fans who were going to every show. Thanks for the pint lads and the great chat and I hope you enjoyed the show in Edinburgh.

Later on I went down the back entrance to where Marky was going to rehearse and he waved me to come in and we were chatting again. Then we had a couple of pics taken Marky had said to Tank who was looking after Marky,(thanks Tank for that) to take a pic. I was glad my camera did not play up this time as in Whitehaven in April it did so unfortunately did not get a pic then. Marky was very friendly as always and it is always a pleasure to chat to him and he is such a nice guy and I was watching him practice on his drums, Marky is always amazing to watch when he drums it is fantastic. After he had finished he went away backstage then the Misfits came on and did their soundcheck.which was good to watch Afterwards Marky came back and we had a quick chat again then he went to go and get ready as Osaka Popstar were doing a soundcheck. Then after that Marky and I said cheerio as he was going back to his hotel to get ready and everyone else was getting ready for the show also. Then I went back outside to wait for the doors opening to let us inside.

The doors opened and we got in then after a little while, Crashed Out the first band came on, I thought they were good I have not really heard of them before but enjoyed them anyway. I then moved over to the left hand side where I could get a better view. After Crashed Out had finished playing then Goldblade came on I have not heard any of their music before but what I heard at the show in Edinburgh I liked. Anyway a good hearted security guard saw that I was not getting a good view and he moved me to the front that was very kind of him and thanks! Anyway Goldblade did their set and went off then it was the turn of the Misfits, who got a rousing welcome. They did a good performance and amongst the songs they did was Skulls, Die Die Die my Darling and the Misfits set was excellently performed Jerry was in good voice and in all they put on a good perfornance. After the Misfits had done their set, Jerry came down on to where the audience was and signed a few things for fans and was chatting to them. Then they went away to get ready for their performance as part of Osaka Popstar.

Marky, John, Jerry, Dez, and Ivan were waiting to come on stage and then they did to a huge cheer. The first song they did was Wicked World, I sang my heart out it was great to hear it live John performed the song very well and everyone did a great job. Amongst the songs they sang Astro Boy, Man of Constant Sorrow, Love Comes in Spurts (which is a great song in my book) and Blank Generation .if I have missed a song out sorry I did not have a set list so am relying on memory. Then afterwards they played a couple of Ramone songs, Blitzkrieg Bop and The KKK Took My Baby Away were among them. It was really great to hear Osaka Popstar and see them playing live. Osaka Popstar rule and they are terrific if you get a chance to see them live go it is a great show. Now the Liquid Room where the show had taken place turns into a nightclub at about 10.15 so everyone really had to leave pretty quick, the guys went to their tour bus and I left the venue after the show and was lucky enough to get to say cheerio and goodnight to Marky before he went on the tour bus, he was greeting other fans who had gathered too.

Thanks John, Marky, Dez, Jerry and Ivan for a great show and good luck in your future shows with Osaka Popstar and thanks to the Misfits too Jerry, Dez and Robo for putting on a good show earlier on. It was really nice to say hi to you Ivan too earlier on in the rain. The rain did not spoil my enjoyment though.

Special thanks to Marky it was great to see you again and thanks to Jon Connor also and everyone else.
Reviewed by Lynne




BROKEN BONES - Stoke, Glebe (29/09/06)

Well back in stoke tonight for dem bones live, well looking forward to this gig as it,s allways good to see them on home land, well we got two surpports tonight from bastards trained by bastards plus d.b.d, two rocking bands i can tell you , well bastards have not plyed for a bit so it was good to se them again and they were better than the last time i seen them , and thats good , a mix of anti-sect, ambix style here and pat the bass player looks the baron anyways , a brill set by these guys nice and grindy, ok up next d.b.d,s from warrington, a mix of a tpye of a rancid on speed cool band did not know the songs but good , ok the bones are next good to see them playing again , as they had a break for a while as paul & bones as you all know play with other bands, ok we get one action packed set to night ,decapitated,civil war,weath rules,stand up,fuck off & die, etc ,etc, all good and the kids justed lapped it up loads of slamming, a mass of destruction death and destruction, one brill night , by one brill band , up the bones!!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




MISFITS - Manchester, Academy (30/09/06)

Well i get in just as crashed out are fininshing as its a shame as they are a well good band a like like the upstarts , well chris does now sing for them anyways so it has an upstart feel to the band and the drummer plays in them to , only seen the last song this is our music!! Cracking stuff it one of them gigz to night were there are lots of securtiy i dislike them shows as they can get a bit nasty , as i seen later on inthe night pushing people from the stage keeping them away , no need for it ,its a punk gig it happends oh well, just for this night i can put up with it !! ok goldblade up next i am not really a fan of this band , but a lot of people like them , thats fine by be , they put on a good show , but not really my cup of poison, ok the misfits up next with mr jerry only, and a bit later on marky ramone drumming with oaska pop stars , after the misfits gig , speacial after show good set a bit poppy , but good to see marky great guy , ok misfits do all the classics, dig up her bones, we are 138,american nightmare,etc,etc, a well good show, i really enjoyed it ,and jerry shook hands and thanked every body for turning up a well good night!!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




BABYSHAMBLES - Southampton, Guildhall (03/10/06)

I was looking forward to seeing the Babyshambles after all the hype and paper talk about Pete Doherty... and plus I never did catch the Libertines when they supported the Pistols in 1996.

There were a couple of support bands who weren't my cup of tea.. very poppy, and the sound wasn't too good.

The Babyshambles came on at 9:30, and I was about 12 or so rows back from the front on the left hand side.. and they started with Janie Jones, yes the Clash version, well as you can guess, I ended up about 6 rows from the front pogoing up and down.. and singing all the words.. My mate and me were probably the only people in the place except for the band who knew the words... ok they didn't play it that well... but it didn't matter.. after that the songs came thick and fast.. and the first 4 or 5 songs sounded really good, and Doherty had the crowd eating out of his hand.. everything he did was greeted with big cheers, and lots of things were thrown on stage, which he picked up and either looked at, put on or laughed about... the average age of the crowd seemed to be 18-20, with everyone jumping up and down.

Most of the Down in Albion CD was played, with the highlights being Albion, Pipedown and Fuck Forever which had the first 20 or so rows jumping up and down.. that was a sight... there seemed to be lots of lulls in the set, with Doherty at one stage chucking his microphone into the crowd.. and then another time swinging the microphone around that it hit the drummers cymbal.. and nearly hit the drummer.. he must of lit up 5 or 6 fags during his set. What did make me laugh was during the slow bits in the songs, a lot of the audience would stop jumping up and down, and end up chatting amongst themselves until the band speeded up, and then they would jump up and down again...

Amongst the songs that I recognised were Up the Morning, Albion, Loyalty Song, La Belle et la bete, Fuck Forever, Peipedown, Killanagiro, In love with a feeling, What Katy did next (which I thought sounded pretty bad), There is a light and sticks and stones.

The Shambles set was entertaining mainly cos Doherty makes it that way.. but it was a shame that after playing for an hr and 20 mins, they went off, and didn't return for an encore.. probably because they played all their songs, and didnt have anything else to play.. I would love to have heard fuck forever as encore instead of being played earlier on... the gig at the end seemed to just peter out... and it should of ended on a high..
Reviewed by Dave




THE BOYS - London, Barfly (22nd & 23rd September)

They travelled from all over the world to London. Like the line from the film, Field Of Dreams, “If you build it, they will come”, the nations of the earth descended upon the Barfly in Camden. Young, old, black, white and everything in-between, to the capital they marched. Pick a country and they were there – Argentina, Spain, Australia, Germany, Sweden, USA, Holland, Canada, Japan – a mini United Nations in North London. Some might consider it stretching a point to call it a pilgrimage, but to many people it was exactly that. A legendary, almost mythical band of the seventies playing their final gigs in the city of their birth and the Barfly was to be their very own field of dreams. The calling was too strong. How could you not go?

Friday, September 22nd was to be the last ever Boys gig in the capital. 30 years on from their debut at the Hope and Anchor in September 1976, the Boys would bow out. But the public had other ideas. A sell out meant a second date was added, so Saturday 23rd was to be the final date. And when that date sold out, the fans hoped for more. A week long residency would be nice, but the Boys aren’t a working band anymore, and fitting concerts in with the day jobs is tricky at the best of times.

Time has been kind to the Boys. Very kind. Their records still sound as fresh today as they did in the spiky heyday of the seventies. Maybe it’s because they always had plenty of pop mixed in with their blend of punk – the very reason why they were shunned by a certain section of the punk brigade back in the day – but they’ve stood the test of time. You just know that Brickfield Nights could be recorded by Green Day or Oasis or whoever tomorrow, and it’d be reaching the kind of heights in the chart it should have reached back in 1978.

The music 30 years on was never going to be a problem, but what of the Boys themselves 3 decades on? Monkey glands, that’s all I can say. That’s the only explanation I can give. It was as if they’d been cryogenically frozen when they finally called it a day back in 1982, only to be thawed out for this weekend. I look in the mirror, and I see 30 years of mileage. I look at the Boys today and I see, well, the Boys!! Yep, that’s Casino Steel on keyboards, Matt Dangerfield on guitar, Duncan Reid on bass, Honest John Plain on guitar, and as for Jack Black on drums, he looks even younger than he did back then. Only it’s not Jack Black on drums. Sadly due to back problems, filling in on the sticks isn’t possible anymore so Steve “Vom” Ritchie, formally of Dr. and the Medics and latterly of German megastars Die Toten Hosen has been admirably keeping the seat warm since the Boys began their series of occasional concerts in 1999. Jack does make it to the London shows as a spectator, however, so it’s as close to being perfect as it could be.

I was fortunate enough to be at both concerts that weekend, but looking back now, they’ve just merged into one rather wonderful experience. Both nights it was hot, both nights it was a crush and both nights the audience simply loved it!.

Kicking off with probably the greatest opening song ever written by anyone, TCP, and pogoing is suddenly back in fashion in London. It was almost as if the audience had been waiting years for permission to enjoy themselves like the old days, and TCP was the green light. Instantly, you’re hit with the power of the band. The chugging power chords of the unmistakable and glorious riff played live suddenly condemning the recorded version as decidedly lightweight and blowing away in a heartbeat any thoughts that the band may have lost “it”. Whatever the band had in the past, they’ve clearly still got it. In bucketfuls. “TCP, it cured my acne. TCP, it left me pimple free. HEY!!” the audience sang as one, a sea of fists punching the air.

Like the latest strain of bird flu, severe cases of extreme grinning spread through the audience like wildfire. We remember, they thought, we remember how it used to be. We remember how going to concerts used to be FUN. How the music used to give you no option but to dance. Just as well, as there’s no time for a rest as TCP finishes and it’s straight into Rue Morgue and a chance for Matt and John to show off on guitar before Vom’s drums come pounding in. The sound is mixed perfectly, and the band are so tight, you’d swear they were playing at the end of a 20 date tour rather than just their 12th concert in 7 years.

See Ya Later, Terminal Love (dedicated to “all the dead people out there”) and Weekend are quickly despatched to a grateful audience before we get an insight into Honest John’s slightly disturbed mind with the wonderful USI. Duncan toys with the audience magnificently like he’s been doing it all his life, but he’s only getting warmed up himself, and Cast Of Thousands gives him his first opportunity for a proper session of audience participation. Time and again, Duncan shows that when it comes to frontmen, he can cut it with the rest of them. Robbie Williams? He’s good, granted, but can Robbie do what he does AND play bass? No. Thank you, I rest my case.

Cast Of Thousands, originally an ode to football in general has now been reworked as an England song, and it’s immediately obvious that this is the song the F.A. should have gone with at the last World Cup instead of that pallid, morose offering by Embrace. Hell, it would have even guaranteed a better performance and a unity from the football team never before seen, as the Boys manage to turn the United Nations of Camden, for that song at least, into a United England.

Segueing brilliantly into Kamikaze, John gets his only solo spot at the mic for the night and there’s no let up for the crowd. Fortunately the next song, Heroine gives them the opportunity for a breather as it finally makes its live debut, some 28 years after being released. Another rarity, and Do The Contract is delivered by Matt, sounding virtually identical to the recorded version.

The Boys shift into the second half of the set, and it’s time to get the heavyweights out. Box Number has the crowd moving like never before, but then they have to go one better as the next song up is Brickfield Nights. A sea of hands and an audience word perfect, the song is an instant shortcut to everyone’s youth, even for those in the crowd who are still too young to have had a youth yet!

The Yobs classic, Worm Song is belted out, all 60 seconds or so of it, and there’s still no let up as Soda Pressing has Matt and Duncan sharing vocals on their wry tribute to punk’s po-faced doom mongers, none of which, it has to be said, are here tonight.

Another ‘77 original, and their debut single, I Don’t Care is delivered to a sweaty, happy and unflagging audience, before the Boys get another of their Crown Jewels out, First Time. If you could pick just one song to remember the Boys by, most people would go for either this or Brickfield Nights and the crowd love it. Many, probably thinking they’d missed their chance to ever hear it live, understandably don’t want the song to end. Fortunately the Boys try their best to make it last as long as possible as they urge the crowd to join in. “Oh, oh, oh, oh” sings Duncan to be greeted by a universal “It’s my first time” right back at him. You could have played it here or Madison Square Gardens and you know it would have worked just as well. That’s the quality of the material. That’s the quality of the band.

The Boys close, as they’ve always done, with the blistering Living In The City and the audience go wild. This may well be the last series of gigs in London, but as far as the crowd are concerned, the night isn’t going to end here and they demand more. The Boys give them just that as they come back for an encore with a rarity from the Odds And Sods album, Jimmy Brown. At one point considered for a single release, you realise the Boys themselves have made the odd mistake in their career in not picking this beauty back then.

Another rare one, and Gabrielle is brought out for the first time ever before the band get back onto more familiar ground with Cop Cars, and, with the crowd wondering if they’ve got any energy left for one last effort, the magnificent and completely un-pc Sick On You is unleashed. Fortunately the crowd have got some energy left and the Hollywood Brats classic is given the enthusiastic farewell it deserves.

A final encore, and a surprise choice in Goodnight Irene, a classic from the days when Cas was with Gary Holton. Cas, for so long tucked away stage left, grabs his spot in the limelight with both hands, and has the crowd singing along before it’s all over and time to go home. The crowd don’t want to go home, but the band have given their all and so the curtain falls on a triumphant series of stunning concerts.

Somewhere in a parallel universe, the Boys are the biggest band on the planet. They got the breaks they richly deserved. They got the TV, the press, the record sales their music should have got. In this universe, however, the one you and I live in, they were simply, unbelievably, overlooked. For that weekend in September, though, they were the biggest band on the planet.
Reviewed by Phil Hanson




THE BOYS - London, Barfly (22/09/06)

As most people know John Peel played the Boys endlessly on his show in 1977.. and yes I listened most nights.. and even have some of the tape recordings from that time with the Boys featuring on them a lot... As soon as that First Album came out I was down the record shop with my money in my hand buying it...yes to me that LP was one of the LP’s of 1977. The Boys have also got so much Punk history involved with the band, from the London SS to the Ramones.

Years later... the Boys are back playing London.. 30 years after they last played there.. no I never saw them play first time around.. but was glad to have seen them play twice before in Morecambe and Blackpool.

This gig for me was one that I had waited for for a long time.. the Boys playing on their home turf, and not at a festival where they could play their own set, and have their own crowd in..

For me Friday night was excellent, and heres what happened.

I saw a couple numbers from the support band... they reminded me of a younger Green Day..

I was already down the front when the Boys came on... and from the first song TCP onwards I was totally enjoying it.. they played Terminal Love quite early on, one of my favourites, and I think I was the only person pogoing jumping up and down.. still I didnt care.. it was one of my favourites.. I stayed down the front all the gig and comtinued jumping up and down like an idiot, and ok, there were a few restful/slower numbers being played from the later album which maybe
aren't my favourites, but it was good to see a set which was taken from all the albums/cds.. and was very varied.. those first album songs went down really well... living in the city, first time, box number, sick on you, soda pressing etc etc.. brilliant.. I was in heaven, those songs meant so much to me in 1977... and still do now.

The band seemed very tight with a good sound being produced.. making the songs nearly as good as the recorded versions.. everyone seemed to be enjoying it.. and what pleased me was the varied amount of different type of people there... this wasn’t your mohacian punk caricature type gig.


The band came back on for an encore of five songs… which included Cop Cars and Sick on you… more first lp songs… great stuff… and then Casino Steel ended the gig with a solo of Goodnight Irene

I shook hands at the end of the gig with each of the Boys as they came off stage, and said how much I enjoyed the gig, and how good the gig had been.. I also said please dont leave it another 30 years before they play London again.. I think they were all too exhausted to laugh.!!!

Here is the set list..
TCP
Rue Morgue
See Ya later
Terminal Love
Weekend
USI
Cast Of Thousands
Kamikaze
Heroine
Do The Contract
Box Number
Brickfield Nights
Worm Song
Soda Pressing
I Don't Care
First Time
Living In The City

Encores:
Jimmy Brown
Gabrielle
Cop Cars
Sick On You
Goodnight Irene


Reviewed by Dave




EATER - London, 100 Club (28/09/06)

Eater are one of my all time favourite bands, and when I saw their one-off gig at the 100 Club advertised I knew I would have to be there. However, three things worried me. First there was all this talk of it being a 30th Anniversary of Punk gig, it would be like The Roxy in 1976 etc. I've been into punk continuously since 1976 and I have some great memories of the early days. But you can't recreate it 30 years on and it's pointless to pretend you can. We're not kids any more, we're all middle aged for one thing! Secondly, only 2 of the original 4 members would be playing, so it should really have been called Half Eater! Thirdly, the ticket price of £15 advance or £20 on the door. Looked suspiciously like a money-grab to me. If they were doing it for the love of the music or just for a laugh or old time's sake, they could have played the good old Dublin Castle and charged £6 like everyone else down there. Anyway, I bit the bullet and coughed up.
I arrived just in time to see TV Smith come onstage. I'm not a big fan of his to be honest but he's undoubtedly got some good songs in his back catalogue and his enthusiasm and love of playing is infectious. I liked him more than I expected to.
The second support was a DJ set from Don Letts. I enjoyed the selection of reggae and dub that he played, but I don't really think that a bloke playing some of his record collection is a support act. I'd much rather have seen another live band.
Finally, on came Eater. The 100 Club was pretty full, there was a good atmosphere and the crowd was right behind them. It should have been a great gig........but it wasn't. They played a tiny 29 minute, 11 song set with no encore. Advertised as their first London gig in 29 years and they could only manage 29 minutes of music! Poor. The whole performance was lacklustre, very little effort was being put in, it was all a bit weak. It may have been my imagination but the songs even seemed to be played slower than on the records. A few people were dancing down the front, but I suspect it was more out of hope that things would pick up than real enthusiasm for the performance.
If this really is to be the last Eater gig (until the next reformation) it seemed a sad way to finish.
Sorry the review is a downer but you've got to say it as you see it, don't you?
Reviewed by Honest John




CONTEMPT,BASTARDS TRAINED BY BASTARDS - Birmingham, Tavern (7/10/06)

Well back in my home town to night , with a few really good bands , the first band up was i think called hardline , but i think it is wrong but hay its punk rock , a well hard spikey band with hard tunes very good !! A good band to get the kids pogoing to and up are the bastards from stoke , steve being an old buddie of mine ,a brand of anti-sect meets amebix , well hard ,a monolith of a band i can tell you , loads more gigz coming up !! Next stoke with witch hunt from the usa on the 21st of october at the glebe be there !! It will be a crust of a night !! Ok up last tonight are contempt who i saw last night in derby, a really good gig to night loads of old faces again to-night in brum , tom & dek drongo !! As ever like me totally surpport there local scene you gotta , ok contempt get the kids poging like mad again to-night , they have a new lp /cd coming out soon so get it !!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




ANWL - Pig Iron Tour (October 06)

Having been with the lads earlier, I returned for the Bradford, Manchester & Newcastle gigs. After an aborted take off at Dublin airport on the runway, a later than expected arrival at Bradford and a taxi driver who hadn't got a clue where he was going and wanted to charge me £26 for the privilege, I knew this wasn't going to be a smooth weekend. I refused to pay and he called the cops, I showed the cops the address I had given him for the Market Tavern and explained that he had tried to drop me off twice at wrong locations before I got the fuck out of his cab and then refused to pay. After a lot of arguing and persuassion from PC plod, he took £17, they owed me that favour after doing my knee in Blackpool.
I headed inside and met up with the lads again before the sound check. Their high spirits and good humour was going to be severely tested though in a short while as the sound check didn't go according to plan. It was one of the longest checks I had ever seen them do, as they had to tell the sound engineer what he was supposed to be doing. Eventually a few songs sounded the way they should and they headed back to the hotel before the gig. I stayed behind to watch GUNS ON THE ROOF , who had recently lost their lead singer Aaron Harris and now had resorted to a 3 piece, Marc Miles (Bass), Danny Sharo (Guitar) and Joe Sefton (Drums) do their sound check. Much to my horror, I saw Mr. Blobby the sound engineer changing the settings on the desk and despite my protestations was told that all would be ok.
The gig started with GUNS ON THE ROOF , who sounded good and looked good as they slagged off Aaron for leaving them "Cos he wanted to be a fucking pop star". I've seen these guys before, and they seemed to have gelled into a sharper unit. They sang 9 songs, the best of which was "Hangman". The drums are much more to the fore, with a heavy bass complimenting it. They put in a stormer of a set without their former "Pop star" front man in which was their 1st gig as a three piece. They would be a mix of The Jam/Clash and Green Day. My advice is keep going as you are. Three guys working well together is better than 4 that aren't.
The ANWL were up next to a rapturous response from a large crowd. But within a couple of songs into the set we knew all was not well as ANIMAL struggled at times to get his vocals heard as there was constant feedback and the guitar was at times barely audible. Despite this, the crowd loved them and were happily singing their songs at the top of their voices despite the LEAGUE having terrible feedback and poor sound on stage overall. At one stage I noticed PJ leaning over his drums to try and see where JEZ was in the song by watching his guitar action. But the crowd loved them nonetheless and appreciated their effort. Late into the gig, ANIMAL was introducing the next song and instead of saying ""We Will Not Remember You" , he said, "The next one is for one person down there, we will not remember the monitors".
After the gig backstage I could see the frustration of the band over the sound. I have never, ever seen them so mad over it before. Devastated would be a more appropriate word. The lads were genuinely concerned about the sound that the crowd had heard. But the gig was done and dusted and we all headed back to the hotel with the post mortem still in progress. However the next day they were hoping for a better sound as we headed off to Rochdale before the Manchester gig. We headed into Manchester and things already looked on the up. There were more monitors and the sound engineers knew what they were doing. Also on the line up were KAMIKAZI SPERM, HYPER JAX and 3CR. All of whom brought local support. KAMIKAZI SPERM put in their usual fast paced set and enjoyed playing to the crowd. 3CR were next up, and I was disappointed with their set as they just seemed to be going through the motions , though some of the crowd did like them.Next up were HYPER JAX, the Rockabilly outfit who put the best set in of the support bands, I really enjoyed them as they upped the ante for the ANWL. The crowd was great in this large venue and they shouted the house down when the lads appeared on stage. The lads put in most of the same set from the previous night, but everything was 100 times better. The sound was great, the crowd seemed to enjoy it more, the buzz was unbelievable. No fuck ups from the sound desk, brilliant lighting made it a lot better. So much so, that ANIMAL squeezed in 3 extra songs. Most of the LEAGUE songs on this tour are from the re mastered PIG IRON album, which is a combination of the SCUM and PIG IRON cd's as well as the infamous "Landlord" and the two banned songs from KINGS & QUEENS cd. As well as the usual crowd favourites such as SO WHAT and STREETS OF LONDON. (What League gig would be the same without these). Still the gig was great, and everyone was back on a high as the ANWL headed off to the hotel for the night.
Next morning, we all headed off to Newcastle, Trillians was the venue and the ANWL kept their promise to return to this great spot. They even closed the bar down for two hours so the ANWL could do their sound check in private and get a bit of grub in peace before the gig. During the sound check a LEAGUE fan, Carlton Train replaced JEZ on guitar as ANIMAL sang The Day The World Turned Gay. He put in such a good show that I joked with JEZ to go get a new job. We left the venue to dash across to MENSI'S newly acquired pub in Jarrow and had a couple of drinks with Mensi and Decca (ANGELIC UPSTARTS) before heading back into Newcastle for the gig. The place was packed when we got back, I had missed most of GUNS ON THE ROOF , but the crowd were enjoying them. The LEAGUE were hoping for another good sound night and they were not to be dissapointed. The crowd went crazy, the sound was fantastic, the set was brilliant it was so good that nothing could spoil it I thought. Wrong again, as I tried to save SHADY getting hit in the face with his mic stand from the crowd surging forward at the stage, I got pummeled to one side, but my leg got trapped in the bars. Resulting in me fucking up my knee again. Funny how that always happens when DECCA WADE is with me, still it was a brilliant gig. Better than Manchester and everyone was back on top form again as we headed out into the night back over to Jarrow to meet up with MENSI & Co., for a "few" beers etc as ANIMAL & MENSI looked like brothers in arms as they chatted away oblivious to the party around them until well after 4.30am in the morning. Yes things were back on song again as the Saxons headed off the next morning to cross Hadrians Wall and into Scotland.
I took my leave of the ANWL here and as they headed off I turned around and went back into Mensi's pub where I stayed for the next four days but that's another story.
Reviewed by Colm




ANTI NOWHERE LEAGUE - Bradford, Market Tavern (10/10/06)

Originally billed as appearing at Rio's, I was walking around the city centre, trying to find the place, and by chance, I came across the manager of the Market Tavern, who told me the venue had been switched, and pointed me in the right direction. Support band were Guns On The Roof, who are a young band, and have been making waves in the Punk scene over the past year or so. They got a pretty good reaction from the crowd.

Old campaigners, Anti Nowhere League were up next, and a grinning Animal introduced We Are The League. This was closely followed by the usual crowd pleasers such as For You, Lets Break The Law, Snowman, We Will Survive, (which they apparently wrote in Northern Ireland).

The place was a sweat-pit, even at the back of the room. (So, this is why they charged us twelve quid, as it includes the price of a sauna, as well as a gig, all lumped together). Animal asked if there were any skinheads in the audience, and told them to get their boots together, and get stomping, as they did their next number, Wreck A Nowhere.

"Imagine if you never had to work again!" said Animal, as he introduced Let The Country Feed You. They added plenty of encores to the set, giving us all our money's worth. A final version of So What ended things, with Animal thanking us all for coming along, and for sticking by them all these years.
Reviewed by Wolverhampton Ex-Punk




ANTI NOWHERE LEAGUE - Newcastle, Trillians (12/10/06)

A year ago, the League played to a packed house of sweating, raucous fans. This year was no different, as pretty much the same people crammed into Trillians for a repeat performance of last year's experience. When I reviewed last year's gig here, I mentioned they would played here, again. I'm only surprised it took so long.

Animal introduced the opener, We Are The League, and immediately, the mosh pit went mental, with bodies falling around, and beer spilling. The crowd pleasers came thick and fast, and the punters lapped it up. The League played a lot better here than in Bradford. I think a good audience inspires a band to put more effort into it, and no disrespect to anywhere else, but, that's what you get when you gig in the North East. Shame it don't inspire me to write better reviews, but there you go.
There was hardly time to go for a leak, or to the bar, as they belted out classic after classic, So What, Woman, I'm An Animal, Fcuk Around The Clock, Can't Stand Rock 'n'Roll, and all the rest of your favourites, from Kent's finest Punk Rock band.

Best number of the night was Long Live Punk. A repeat of We Are the League was the final encore, although everyone was still chanting for more.
Reviewed by Wolverhampton Ex-Punk




GBH + PAIN + NEW WAVE - Derby, Victoria (21/10/2006)

Well fellow punk rocks back at the vic tonight for a blinder of a gig first up is a band I never seen before new wave a very 77 style punk band but good at what they did and there a few heads bobbing t tem to the place is filling up nicely and there are still two more bands to go!! Get me self another beer and then the pain take the stage from whales I never seen them before so I was well impressed I can tell you, a very different band a bit slow a few people mat say but a good band !! I never seen them before but they have been around for some years!! ok gbh are up next and we have Karl Morris now and Mickey Coyle on bass two people that fit well in to jocks & Ross’s shoes me thinks , I really enjoyed them as I think they added a new fresh approach to the band !! We get all the old faves ha, ha, freak, diplomatic, give me fire, city baby, etc, etc and all played really well and a few jokes thrown in my Mr. Abram hall, as well a really good night lots old faces and classic songs by a classic band !! see you lot really soon..down the front!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




STIFF LITTLE FINGERS - Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms (23/10/2006)

This was the first time that I've seen SLF for two years, and what a treat it was. I first saw them back in 1978 or 79, and wasn't it good to see Ali McMordie back with them again... he certainly injected something back to SLF.

First up were Goldblade, this was the first time that I've seen them, and they got the place going, with some good songs, and a good stage performance.. yours truely joined in the vocals on Psycho.. and the only other one that I've heard before is Black Sheep Radical. I enjoyed their set, and they got a good reception from everyone.

SLF didn't arrive on stage till 10:15.. and played for an hour and a half, including two encores .. yes two encores.. I haven't seen that for a while, but the crowd were just lapping it up, and thorougly enjoying it. Although most of the Fingers crowd consist of people around my age... yes I was 17 in 1977, there were quite a few younger kids there, which means that a whole new generation are getting off on SLF.

SLF started off with Roots, Radics, Rockers and Reggae with a good sound, and followed it up with the following which are not in any particular order.. and I know that I've missed out quite a few songs, but trying to remember a whole set whilst pogoing away takes some doing... Strummerville, Doesn't make it alright, Guitar and Drum (my favourite track from that CD), At the Edge, Gotta Gettaway, Can't get away with that, with of course Ian Macallam taking over the vocals, Listen, a newie called something like Liars Club, Barbed Wire Love, Fly the Flag, Back to Front, Breakout, Silver Lining, State of Emergency, and they finished the set with Tin Soldiers. I'm sure stand up and shout was also played, anyway Ali seemed to be totally enjoying it, and seemed to have a great stage presence about him, and of course all those early songs which he was part off sounded great.

They came back for the first encore of Wasted Live and Suspect Device after lots of Fingers, Fingers chant and then finished off with a second encore of Alternative Ulster after further chants of Fingers, Fingers rang round the Wedgewood Rooms. This was a totally different set than the last two times that I have seen them, and was I pleased that they played some songs I haven't heard for ages like Breakout and State of Emergency. This was for me the best that I have seen SLF play in the last 5/6 years, and yes they played lots of songs from those early LP's... great stuff.

What I like about SLF is that they are still writing very good new songs, about things which matter, and seem to change their set every time they go on the road.

Although Portsmouth was the last gig on this tour, catch them next time round and you won't be dissappointed.

Reviewed by Dave




BOYS + MYBE - Camden Barfly (22/09/2006)

We love those old punk rockers, in their various shapes and (usually expanding around the waistline) sizes. They entertain us with the hits of yesteryear, which is good fun, and some of them even refuse to knock the idea on the head that they’re actually still capable of writing excellent new material. See the Buzzcocks Flat Pack Philosophy and the Damned's Grave Disorder. And there are others (mentioning no names) who would be better suited to the chicken in a basket circuit or tending their privet hedges - occasionally swapping the odd sordid story about illicit partying to next door neighbours who, doubtless, will in return offer them a look at their stamp collection.

So you have to be dubious, but you shouldn’t be cynical. And one of the good things about some of the old stagers getting together is allowing fans who missed out to catch up on what they’ve missed. I never got to see the Boys in their prime, and as a band whose records I’ve firmly enjoyed and feel have been much under-reckoned with down the years, catching them at the Barfly in September seemed an absolute gimme. I obviously wasn’t alone in my thinking. There were fans of the band there from across the globe. Some had flown in from Argentina. And I met one nice couple who’d come over from Spain. They didn’t have tickets – but they did want to see the Boys if they possibly could. So well done to support act Mybe for generously donating their guest passes to help them out.

The Barfly was packed. This was, after all, the first (and last) Boys appearance in London in 25 years. The line-up was of all originals aside from Die Toten Hosen drummer Vom, stepping in for Jack Black (who nevertheless was in the audience to wish them well). There were clearly nerves, but these were quickly discarded as the upstairs room (it really is more akin to a lounge rather than a ‘venue’) started to bounce in enthusiastic rapport. There was a mass stirring of that engaging but faintly hysterical way that the middle aged punk fan moves from the pogo to the sway as inebriation and lack of conditioning take hold.

Duncan Kid Reid led from the front. Imagine Billy Idol if he had a clue. He certainly had the shapes. John Plain maintained a studiously cool posture while Matt Dangerfield’s initially nervous smile grew broader by the minute. And there was dear old Cass Steel presiding over the keyboards to stage right, a living legend - in my record collection at least.

They started with ‘T.C.P’ but all the band’s greatest moments were unearthed, with the possible exception of ‘Sabre Dance’, one of my all time favourite punk covers. They even managed the harmonies on ‘Terminal Love’, which probably takes some doing at their age. The biggest cheers, though, were reserved for ‘Brickfield Nights’ and ‘First Time’. All terrifically good too, a perfect rush of pop and melody. Which was always what the Boys were about.

A fantastic evening, and hugely enjoyed by the audience (several of whom were rhapsodic post-show). I could go on (I usually do) but let’s just say, sate your envy if you weren’t there by picking up the deluxe re-release of the Boys debut album now available through Captain Oi! It would be hard to make a pig’s ear out of such a purse, but it’s nice to see a bit of love and affection spent on an album that is still, and always will be, one of the very, very finest of 1977. Which was a vintage year after all.


Reviewed by Alex Ogg




TWISTED ANGELS - Blackpool, The Star (7/8/2005)

Hailing from the self governing Island Of Man in The Irish Sea, all girl band Twisted Angels are 17-18 yrs of age, Steph Motley, Andrea Fox, Laura Moore, and Ami Fargher.

Making what is their largest UK tour to date, including The Attica in London, and in promotion of their newly released album 'Alter Ego'
they have a busy diary for the remainder of the year.

Playing punk pop/rock they have developed their sound since forming in 2002.

On their perfomance at The Star, Blackpool, here was a credible, almost soulful, deeper sounding punkette musical blast.
Taking their influence from contemporary punk bands, the girls work as a team, writing, producing, and playing all their own original songs.
Very similar in appearance to Fnnish mega stars 'Tik Tak', Twisted Angels can change the pace from fast to medium tempo.
With unique angelic vocals, crashing drums, and strong bass, they have possible potential to make a dent in the current music scene.

However, to do this they will need to give out a wake up call, with more energy, a stronger focal point, and much more confidence.
I could see it's there, but they need to bring it out, and see how some other bands do it.
Should they really be instructed from their manager, to ask for an encore?

The crowd was small, but it was not a traditional locals venue, and they were an unknown commodity, but surely everyone deserves the full monty.

Twisted Angels will be recording a video from a live gig on Saturday, 20th August.
This will be promoted to MTV and Kerrang.
They are currently planning a tour of Japan


Reviewed by Stuart Logan




FLAMINGO 50 - St Annes, The Crescent (14/11/2005)

Making their third appearance in this area, and promoting their latest album 'Tear It Up', Flamingo 50, a 3 piece punk pop rock band from Liverpool stormed into their songs with furious velocity.
The lightning fast guitars and drum beat that accompanied lead vocalist and focal point Louise Hanman, exploded and mesmerised the fair sized crowd.
The band had a devil may care sound, and a free punk spirit, the energy of a jet engine with the afterburners blasting into your face.
Louise Hanman's skillful guitar, (that she moved around like a samurai warrior), and spontaneous, unpredictable, manoeuvres, made for a memorable performance.
With skill and ferocity, the drum and guitar beats, and raw feedback reached the highs and lows of a rapid scale.
Louise Hanman's vocals had passion and texture that was totally unique, but sounded like many great artistes rolled into one.
She, and the band gave their all.
If Flamingo 50's raw energy could be canned, the electricity bill for Blackpool illuminations would be paid.
'Tear It Up', the album being promoted, is a gem for any true fan of raw, flowing, melodic, musical punk. From track 1 to 12, its worth every penny or cent, and deserves global radio play.
Listening recommended.

www.flamingo50.co.uk


Reviewed by Stuart Logan




COMBAT SHOCK,FIGHT BACK,ANNOYED,CONTEMPT - Derby, Victoria (6/10/06)

Ok fellow punk rockers , back at the vic tonight to see some old buddies of mine combat shock !! Being as its gonna be there last gig now !!! What a shame i hear you all say !!!Ok first up is a back called fight back !! And what a killer band yes they do ,do expoilted covers troops of tomorrow , dead cities, but they have there own trax ‘’black slags & clever bollox’’ ripper stuff i can tell you , a total chaotic set lots of punching the air with anger !! Cool band , ok annoyed are up next from huddersflied so i was told i think i caught them on a bad day , they had it there to be good , but tonight the lead siger is a pissed as a rat !! And well it spoils the whole set !! Never mind lads there is allways more gigs coming up !! Ok the place is filling up nicley and contempt are up next , and they play one of the best sets i seen them play for ages well good, no i.d. cards, 12 years on, etc , a really good night down the vic tonight and combat shock are up next with there own brand of punk rock !! I know sonny the drummer very well !! And check out his new band constant state of terror !! Well icons of flithy !! Ok we get all there classic tunes here plus some very old stuff not being heard for ages !! And the kids just kept lapping it up me to !!! A really good night in derby tonight as ever !!!.
Reviewed by Adam Ward




Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Scene

Sorry no scene reviews this month, please get in touch if you have any you would like including


Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene
 


Get Reviewed!
All music releases and books / fanzines, video / dvd's from the following genres will be reviewed;
Punk, Oi!, Psychobilly, Ska Hardcore and Mod.

Feel free to email gig and scene reviews for inclusion.

++++ Made In England +++
Copyright  |  Disclaimer  | Privacy Policy