Punk & Oi In The UK - Take Me Home
Email  |  Mailing List  |   facebook.com/punkoiuk
Information on the current Punk & Oi  scene
No Judgement
Punk & Oi In The UK - banner  
Reviews - Go to latest Reviews
And The Rest

Month: July 06



Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Music Releases

ADULECENTS UK - Banging A Shovel Against a Shed (Yakakaa Records)

Local band for me. I have seen them 3 – 4 times. This cd is a great punk CD, very refreshing with influences here and there by Dropkick Murphys. Go and but this one and the reading on the CD was great too. Ace stuff. I’m Not A Sheep!!!
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



AUTUMN OFFERING - Revelations Of The Unstrong (Victory Records)

Not heard of these guys/gals before and not surprising I can say to myself. They are not punk, oi or physco. They are metal. It is unfair for me to review their cd, as I know nothing of the metal scene. I don’t listen to metal at all so it’s unfair for a Punk & Oi website to give a poor rating review. I think it’s musically ok, choppy and does not have the catchy/melodic tunes I am used to. This bands CD does not belong on this site in my view. Sorry, real sorry.
0 out of 5
Review by Andy



BATTLETORN - BURN FAST (MAD AT THE WORLD RECORDS)

website

Battletorn are a New York duo producing a no-hold barred full on hardcore meets metal sound. ‘Burn Fast’ their debut vinyl single, featuring six short cuts, never stops for a breath. Instead their manic assault charges around with all the subtlety of a bull in a china shop. Imagine Chaos UK getting drunk with Slayer!
3 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



BROKEN BOTTLES - SUBURBAN DREAMS (TKO RECORDS)

website

Orange County, California punks BB give it their all on a superbly packaged double A side 7” single. Taking a trip down the bottle strewn yellow brick road back to punk Oz, they’re first class purveyors of snotty and melodically charged early 80s American punk (pre the hardcore explosion). Straightforward, rocking and infectious.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



BUZZCOCKS - SECRET PUBLICS ‘BEST IN GOOD FOOD’ (DAMAGED GOODS RECORDS)

website

A coloured vinyl only double album collection of the Buzzcocks live recordings from the period 1993-2001 anyone? Yeah me neither, until I got my mitts on the discs themselves. With recordings covering an eight year period, capturing the band in a variety of exotic settings like New York, Toulouse, Sao Paulo, Norway, Switzerland, Sweden and of course old blighty it’s obvious the compiling ‘Cocks had the pick of some choice recordings. What is on offer is a selection of prime juicy cuts, and to paraphrase the band What Do You Get? In total 21 tracks of direct, short, sharp, melodic pop with an energetic immediacy. Although largely from their post-chart period, there’s very little of the material here that would have seemed out of place back in the late 70s/early 80s when the Buzzcocks were charting regularly. The Buzzcocks must obviously be aware of the old adage ‘If it ain’t broke don’t fix it’. To sum up. No surprises, nothing cutting edge or particularly pioneering. Who needs that though when you can enjoy the delights of a band performing at the peak of their game and consistently giving their all. Still ‘Cocks of the north’.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



CHURCH OF THE SATURDAY SAINTS - LONGBOARDER (VINEHELL RECORDS)

website

This Californian four piece, despite an unwieldy moniker, produces an attractive and melodic punk with pop (from when the word meant something good!) stylings, and a Clash influence worn proudly on their sleeves. Front man Dover S. gives it his all with a larynx torn vocal authority and acoustic guitar upfront, on a vinyl 7” that feels so like late 70s early 80s punk it hurts.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



CIRIL - PINK CAVE (VINYL DOG RECORDS)

website

Long Beach, California post-punk act Ciril offer a kind of semi-annoying, madcap punk meets new-wave ‘goofiness’ on their latest single. Shades of PIL / Flipper and an original take on The Banshees ‘Metal Postcard’ make them an interesting future proposition.
2 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



CRYPTKEEPER FIVE - Trenton Makes (Peephole Records)

Very Rock n’ roll played well with plenty of guitars and sax etc. Track six ‘Evil Thing’ has it all. A nice easy listen.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



DBD - Nobody’s Heroes (SOS Records)

This one is a fem, in the vein of the Dropkick Murphys and the Street Dogs. It just kicks all the way through. Credit must be given, not just to the band but also to all the background influence such as the managed, friends & families. I hope this young punk band go to the top, given the chance, believing in themselves and the dedication is there – go for it. Very patriotic though out, worthy of some serious success. If DKM can do it, why not DBD. Very strong vocals and every word, chord, drumbeat could be heard. This is goose bump stuff and will make your hairs stand to attention on the back of your neck!
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



DEEPWOUND - DEEPWOUND (DAMAGED GOODS RECORDS)

website

Surprisingly effective and muscular hardcore from seminal American hardcore act Deep Wound, who featured J Mascis (later of Dinosaur Jr) Deep Wound, a limited edition coloured vinyl album, brings together their demos, 7” and compilation tracks recorded between 1982-84. The album offers a healthy dose of primal early American hardcore that possesses the ability to rock’n’riff things with class when required as on ‘Video Prick’ and ‘Dead Babies’, whilst the raw blast of pure energy that is the 1982 demo is worth the price of admission alone. A white noise of focused mayhem that through crescendos of sound builds into an exceptional series of 100% pioneering hardcore.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



DEVIL RIDES OUT - Don’t Drop The Coffin ()

Not really my kinda stuff with a hint of metal / horror stomping stuff rumbling in your ears. I usually keep away from their style, but this is ok, and done on a low budget. This would defo sell on MTV and Kerrang for sure. It sounds better than most of that ‘mosher’ mixed up rabble. Talent in the making and will sell to the ids if given the chance. One of my kids would love it, metal king!!!
2 out of 5
Review by Andy



DISGUST - FLASHBACK TO TRASHBACK (NOISE AND DISTORTION RECORDS)

website

Dutch punk band Disgust find their entire recorded legacy released as vinyl only collection. Active around 1984/85, the album brings together their three demos and sole 7” for a healthy 19 tracks in total. Ranging from an all out manic thrash assault a’la Ripcord / Heresy / Larm to a slightly more laidback Disorder style madness, with their later cuts including touches of vaguely metal style riffing. Although roughly remastered from original tapes, there’s an undeniable attraction to the seminal raw-assed scream of Disgust. Occasionally, as on a track like ‘Who Killed Kerwin’ they exhibit an inspired genius, combining the spirited drive of Italian 80s hardcore and their own desire to push the boat out. A powerful aural document of a period when everything was possible and thrash wasn’t a tired cliché.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



FRANTIC FLINSTONES - the Legendry Mushroom Sessions (Cherry Red Records)

So it’s been released at last, wow, 17 years unreleased – sounds a long time, but worth the wait. High as kite stuff, very deep psychedelia. Very easy listening, just lower yourself down to the tone and loose your self in pure rock n roll mayhem. I love Frantic Flinstones; their image alone is great. Maybe us physcos are just psychos? This takes me back to my youth, different studio that just blends into a haze. It is no wonder at all the Flinstones 20th has come around; they are still pulling the browns in the Euro scene. Excellent sleeve notes put you in the mind of Chuck & the band that have pulled off a gem. To sum it up, feet tapping stuff with the rock n roll riff – thank God it’s released, it’s been missing but always there we were told.
4 out of 5
Review by Andy



FUNERAL DRESS - Hello From The Underground ()

Dirk & the boys do deliver big time. One of the most underrated street punk bands of all time. This cd is street punk at it’s very best, with hard-hitting tracks throughout. Hello From The Undergrounds just sums Funeral Dress up. Living the Dream (track 2) Hello From the Undergrounds hits home the type of track to make your hairs on the back of your neck stand up to be counted, Thought out its all good stuff and to finish off Swords Of A Thousand Men, Tenpole Tudor. Dirk does growl as Dirk does and Funeral Dress follow the marching on and on and on. Be sure to make a b-line for them at Blackpool, I sure will be careful not to miss them. Only disapointment is they are not recognised in Britain as a formical force. Over in Europe they have a good following – so come on you Brits… do your stuff and get off your arse to go and see a top street punk band. This cd is actually worth a 10!
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



GEKO BROTHERS - Demolition of the Rehabilitation (Drunkabilly)

I have not heard of the Geko Bro’s before, but this cd is very different, and not my style I am afraid. If you like ‘em that’s ok, if you don’t know them there is nothing I can compare them to, but at the same time it is different and catchy, and the vocals do sound kinda familiar. I am not knocking this at all, but I cannot put my finger on it and it doesn’t work for me. Sorry guys you do sound unfamiliar and do look a bit like Moterhead – kinda metal and I’m punk.
1 out of 5
Review by Andy



HANK III / ANTISEEN - Split 7” ()

website

It’s an all out celebration of redneck Americana from the good old boys Hank III and Antiseen all captured on a limited edition picture disc. Although the recording sounds like old Hank has been frying his ‘mess o’grits’ on the disc, he adds an infectious country twang to Antiseen’s ‘Ruby, Get Back To The Hills’, whilst Antiseen themselves punch out more of their brutalcore with the delightfully un-pc ‘Fuck The Kids’.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



I OBJECT - Taking Revenge (Virus 3S3)

Female fronted DIY hardcore punk from across the pond. No holes barred, you get what you get – plenty of snarling pissed off hardcore punk. Very Far, loud and proud. The lyrics are direct; full of supporting ethics, ie morals. This band does mean what they say and don’t give a damn about corporate America and most of all believe in what they are doing. It’s well in tune for all I stand for. Fuck the world not just America is the way forward, maybe their views are positive, but true, just my kinda stuff, Hardcore DIY punk will never die as long as there are people who refuse to be led.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



INCUBATORS - VISION EXPRESS (BOOTLEG BOOZE RECORDS)

website

Norwegian band The Incubators produce an agreeable and solid hybrid of punk’n’rock’n’roll that brings to mind the gritty, earthy drive of the early Saints. That said ‘Vision Express’ the debut four-track vinyl EP from a band who include within their ranks ex members of Gluecifer, is memorable in a non vital sort of way.
2 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



KILLIGANS - BROWN BOTTLE HYMNAL (KILLIGANS RECORDS)

website

Nebraskan seven piece The Killigans are another Stateside act willing, capable and able to bring together the twin gods of punk and Irish folk with no little style and panache. ‘Brown Bottle Hymnal’ their debut album is a fresh and vibrant collection that manages to combine their considerable virtuosity and finesse on the Celtic music side (fiddle, mandolin, whistle and accordian) with a pile driving back line and a searingly effective melodic wall of guitar upfront. They also possess in vocalist Brad Hoffman, a front man capable of leading confidently yet equally able to attack with vigour and venom when required, his delivery able to hold your attention with it’s charismatic command. They also demonstrate admirable instrumental prowess on the superbly entertaining and self-composed tune ‘Lessons From The Empty Glass’, whilst elsewhere they add subtle little touches of bluegrass and country stylings to proceedings, which only adds to the attraction. Whilst so many paddy punks are happy to rest on clichéd laurels, lacking real spirit and dare I say soul, The Killigans are a band that ooze class and sparkle with no little Celtic magic.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



LEFT HAND PATH - THE WRECKAGE (ORGANIZED CRIME RECORDS)

website

Pretty raging hardcore fused with metal style riffing, giving it some in a classic early hardcore stylee. Add to that a side setting of frantic blasts of noise and you’ve a six-track vinyl EP of unrepentant, unapologetic disturbance of the earzone.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



MAD SIN - Teachin The Goodies & More (Cherry Red Records)

Pure psycho and fab covers. Top boys from Berlin, go out and see ’em live. The quality of this is so good that Mino Bowing Live sounds just like the cd copy. These are my favourite psychobilly band for sure.
4 out of 5
Review by Andy



MARKY RAMONE - Start Of The Century (Fuel Records)

Feet tapping stuff. This is a great classic. There are plenty of tracks here, including some coming in at just 2 minutes. In fact there are 47 tracks of pure Ramones Punk.
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



OPOZICION - RUIDO INSUGENTE EP (FFYM RECORDS)

website

The South American punk and hardcore scene has recently been pumping out some of the finest, most intense and musically interesting stuff that the World punk scene has produced. Colombian band Opozicion are no exception. Their six track ‘Ruido Insurgente’ vinyl EP, is an absolutely vital sliced of driving fuzzed out hardcore, with dual, and hyper effective, male/female vocals, heavily politicized lyrical themes and an inventiveness courtesy of sterling use of sax. Spine-tingingly successful a premier disc on all counts.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



RAINING BRICKS / BLACK SS - SPLIT 7” (ORGANIZED CRIME RECORDS)

website

Chicago four piece Raining Bricks create an entertaining, youthful and exhilarating hardcore rock out, best exemplified in the catchy ‘Taken For A Ride’, whilst Black SS kick out a storm of blistering, straight ahead and solidly competent hardcore that graces the disc.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



RESISTANT CULTURE - WELCOME TO REALITY (SPIRAL RECORDS)

website

These L.A. based anarcho-crust standard bearers are masters of the darker metal punk pioneered by Amebix, Antisect and Discharge. Their grindcore assault, augmented by occasional nods to their native American roots helps the five piece produce a pulverizing sonic blast of sound that turns ‘Welcome To Reality’ into a thing of awesome, menacing beauty. The downbeat melodies, doomy vocals and machine like drive propels things along with song titles like ‘Ecocide’, ‘The Struggle Continues’, ‘Forced Conformity’ and ‘Civilized Aggression’ telling their own story. Their fusion of anti-statist themes and the monumental searing power of the music make for superb bedfellows. When they also pull off with ease, a distinctive and memorable reworking of Discharge’s ‘Hear Nothing, See Nothing, Say Nothing’ it becomes strikingly clear that this talented crew are purveyors of possibly the most consistently effective grinding anarcho-crust punk you’re likely to hear today.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



RUM RUNNER - DEAD MEN ARE HEAVIER THAN BROKEN HEARTS (LONGSHOT MUSIC)

website

American paddy punk four piece Rum Runner aren’t afraid of tackling the big guns as their impressive cover of The Pogues ‘Body Of An American’ demonstrates. They’ve more up their sleeves than a straight Pogues tribute though, as own story ballad and title track proves, coming on like a confident crawl through the back pages of The Clash and The Levellers given an American punk/roots edge.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



SECTION 5 - We Stand Alone (Thunk Records)

Very Section 5! Tosh & the boys do produce some excellent stuff. This CD is one of them. Hated by many, loved by few and those who called, hang your heads. Section 5 have had their troubles and those who caused such troubles know who you are… bet you wish you had kept your big mouths shut because Section 5 have rode the storm and delivered a peach. Excellent Oi! At it’s best. Singalong chorus that get to the parts only few have reached. Am I a big fan, of course, but take a chance if you are not familiar with Section 5 – you will not be disappointed. Oi/punk does need to be shout from our rooftops – shout loud, shout proud. We Stand Alone just sums up the CD and Fuck Your Politics does hit home. Worth listening to over and over again. A big thanks you to Section 5 past & present & Tosh for influencing me over the years. You gave me true belief in you know is right. One last thing ‘Port Vale who?’ my love Andy OCS, East Bank S.W.F.C. Oisters.
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



SKEPTIC - NOBODY CARED (OWN LABEL)

website

The fourth release from Birmingham, Alabama four piece Skeptic is a 7” EP of almost perfectly formed, aggressively charged, storming punk that although displaying a hardcore drive is clever enough to add a plethora of melodic hook lines to proceedings. Five tracks feature, that rattle by with authority and power of delivery that makes it hard to understand why an act like this is self-releasing limited editions of 250 of their singles! Grab it while you can.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



SKULLS - Beyond Warped ()

It now seems common to produce a CD & DVD flip over CDs/DVDs on one disc. What a fab idea, can’t be bad. The Skulls sound great, old school punk, hard guitars and thumping bass. I much prefer the DVD to the CD as you can see the Skulls in action. It was shot outside at one gig and two short inside shows at the best venues such as the Run Down The Back Street pub, underground at the best. Can punk rock pay the bills, ask yourself – well no is the answer, but we can all enjoy ourselves cos it runs through our veins. The Skulls are pumping none stop; I would love to see em playing G Britain.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



SOLDIER DOLLS - 81 2 85 (PURE PUNK RECORDS)

website

As Ian Glasper’s renowned book on 80s punk ‘Burning Britain’ explains, between the opposite camps of Anarcho punk and the neu-punk of The Exploited, Anti Nowhere League, GBH etc there existed a whole swathe of young punk bands with the toes dipped tentatively in both camps, who never became associated with one or the other. Welsh punks The Soldier Dolls are a prime example, and Italian punk re-issue label Pure Punk has seen fit to release a fourteen track vinyl only compilation of their finest moments. There’s little here to complain about as they power their way through a solid and workmanlike selection of meaty 80s punk with hints of the UK Subs or the likes of The Destructors. They came into their own on the more ballsy later material, especially the likes of 1984’s ‘Victim’, that given wider exposure back then might have catapulted the Soldier Dolls beyond minor league status. Watch out for more obscure, undiscovered 80s punk re-issues from Pure Punk.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



STRAY CATS - Rumble In Brixton (Cherry Red Records)

Excellent DVD, worth playing over and over again. There are loads of classics played to a packed to the rafters Brixton. Pumping upright / slap bass and thumping beat got my feet tapping for sure, which is very refreshing to see on DVD. Extras are thumping Too, Vibrant, Crystal Cloud, and Fab Tour and behind the scenes, making you feel you were there. I can’t get enough of this one. Am I bias? Of Course I am.
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



SUSPICIOUS STAINS - With Added Cheese Demo (From the band)

website

Suspicious Stains have been around for quite a while now, they formed in 2000, and after a change in the line up you get the band I have on my c.d. player. Female fronted socially aware punk with a very good sense of humour the band are one of the best live bands doing the pub toilet circuit at the moment and if you’ve never caught them live you really are missing out. The highlight of the bands live shows usually involves Eddie the drummer leaving the drum stool in whatever costume he has chosen for the occasion and wild cover versions usually follow. Now then the c.d. 9 tracks of pretty much what you get live but a lot more polished. It makes a change hearing the vocals than some underpowered p.a. struggling to make the band heard. Opening with ‘Linda Barker’ a song about a certain t.v. makeover woman and that she must die and ending with ‘Rapist’ (not a cover) the band kick out some great tunes and there isn’t really a bad track on here. I personally would have liked the vocals a little bit lower as at times they mask the tunes but that’s just me, never happy am i? For more details about the band go to www.myspace.com/suspiciousstains.
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



TERMITES - Overload (Cherry Red Records)

The Termites have been around for a while, but I have not heard much by them. I am glad to have picked u p this cd. Rockin start to finish, fab sleeve notes to back up a great psycho CD. I must go as far to say that this rubs shoulders with legends such as the Meteors, seriously this is just as kickin. 14 tracks of pure psychobilly, plus some bonus tracks. This spine pumping stuff that makes you stand up when listening to the tracks such as ‘Who’s The Chick’, ‘Train To Misery’ and ‘Overload’ and the tongue in cheek ‘Shagging All Nite’ – IT’S A FUCKING GEM. It just makes you to want to put on your boppers, skin-tight pants and get your sides shaved and stick up that flat top, come Mohawk and relive your psychobilly days. What the fuck am I saying – that is just shit, we are living our psycho lives with such ace bands like the Termites. I would love to catch them live? Well good.
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



THE ORANGE MAN THEORY - Riding A Cannibal Horse From Here To… (INDELERIUM RECORDS)

website

I first came across Rome based four piece The Orange Man Theory on the labyrinth that is myspace, the band rewarding my interest with a copy of their debut album ‘Riding…’ The album, produced by Steve Austin (known for his work with Converge, Bongzilla, Unsane, Lamb Of God etc) belies the fact that as a band the’ve only been together a mere two and a half years. An accomplished and adventurous blend of punk fuelled hardcore and metal that brings to mind the classic 80s Italian hardcore sound occasionally, although ‘Riding…’ is a more contemporary beast. At times the riffing, as on ‘Vampires Of The Sun’ is a little formulaic, but the imaginative and energetic power surge of ‘Where We’re Going We Don’t Need Roads’ manages with power and alacrity to allay any fears of entering clichéd territory. Abrasive, menacing, noisy and heavy as hell but superbly constructed.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



TINNITIS / SICKNESS - SPLIT LP (FIGHT FOR YOUR MIND RECORDS)

website

An impressive gatefold sleeve graces this international punk underground collaborative release from French label Fight For Your Mind. American act Tinnitis (made up of members of Calloused and State Of Fear) are exponents of Motorhead style metal punk, led by upfront incisive lead riffing and the anguished vocals of front man Krupa. Although lacking the awesome power of Motorhead, their gutsy drive is pretty damned attractive and the incisive lyrics of the likes of ‘Pissed Up In A Shithole’ are certainly memorable. French act Sickness use a Discharge style font for their logo, so it’s no surprise to hear the four piece pumping out a blend of powerful D-beat/crust fused with a storming 80s fixated punk approach. Vocalist P.P manages to alternate between doomy crusty groaning, and the semi-screamed Euro hardcore style with ease. A mind storming collection from the contemporary punk underground.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



TOMMY GUN AND THE BULLETS - SOMETHING NEW (RADIO RECORDS)

website

Californian four-piece Tommy Gun and The Bullets, although labouring under a clumsy name, manage to produce three slices of atmospheric early punk style rockers on their debut 7” release. Imagine an amalgam of The Heartbreakers, The Clash and even a touch of the pop punk of The Boys and you’re roughly on course. Upbeat classic punk.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



TOREROS AFTER OLE - AFTER OLE (MUNSTER RECORDS)

website

Originally released as a 12” in 1983, the debut, and only record by Spanish punk band Toreros After Ole, now sees re-release as a gatefold sleeve double 7” set on Spain’s Munster Records. Seven tracks of Spanish language fuelled, speedy punk grace the discs. A deliciously manic little affair, with shades of over the top hardcore, minus the metal riffing, and delivery like the possessed throughout. Toreros… one and only release is a very welcome Euro punk classic re-issue.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



URRKE T AND THE MIDLIFE CRISIS - ASK NOT WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR YOUR COUNTRY (BOOTLEG BOOZE RECORDS)

website

This delicious little slab of 7” vinyl brings together a veritable super group from Sweden’s punk scene including members of The Hellacopters, Maggots, Maryslim and The Backyard Babies for an unashamedly nostalgic trip back to their roots. Consequently the treats in store include a spunkier outing for The Users’ seminal ‘Kicks In Style’, The Warheads ‘Center Of Lies’ and an impact heavy outing for The Avengers classic ‘The American In Me’. Pretty damn retro heaven.
5 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



VARIOUS - Backstreets Of American Oi And Punk Vol.2 (Street Anthem Records)

website

55 band double disc CD featuring some of the big names in American Streetpunk/oi and quite a lot of bands I’ve never heard of before. The bigger names include Roger Miret and the Disasters, The Boils, The Bruisers, Ny Rel-X and Iron Cross whilst you get other bands such as Rat City Riot, Labour Force and Tommy Gutless. As compilations go if you like your stuff from the street you can’t go wrong nearly 2 and a half hours of it on here with enough variety in the bands to not make it boring. For more info go to www.streetanthemrecords.com
5 out of 5
Review by Paul



VARIOUS - You Gotta Start Somewhere (Pekka Productions)

Some say compilation cd’s are hard to get into – usually unknown bands trying to get their feet on the 1at rung of the ladder. I must admit I don’t go for compilations on the whole, but have found a few that do make you sit up and listen. This is one of these cd’s that does make me sit and say, fuck me this is good. Although I don admit to reading about a few of the bands, but if I catch any future releases by the bands I will buy them or go out of my way to see em. Seem our Scandinavian cousins do produce some excellent punk bands. Over the years No Fun AT All and Guttersnipe have all produced banging, fast catchy punk. Along with them go Anal Thunder, Common Voice, Back Against The Wall, Flippin Beans – the whole cd is rocking start to finish, go out and buy and support these bands. Keep punk alive
5 out of 5
Review by Andy



VARIOUS - COFF IT UP (SCRATCH AND BITE RECORDS)

website

Australia has been responsible for some great acts over the years from The Saints through The Birthday Party, Roaring Jack, Weddings Parties Anything, The Triffids etc. This compilation consisting of young acts from the Coffs coast region of Oz is on the whole a glorious assertion that the country can still produce the goods. Nine acts give it their all offering dirty garage rock, solid hardcore, tough punk metal or delightfully twisted punk pop. With each band popping up twice there’s plenty to savour. Highlights have to include the confrontational slice of gritty garage punk ‘Fucka Fucka Fucka’ by Thunderbox, the abrasive pop punk of Zygomatic Major’s ‘If I Cared’ and the psycho-delic punk of Space Circus, their ‘There’s Faeries In My Ring’ coming across like a twisted X-Ray Spex. Although hardly likely to make much of a splash beyond the Coffs coast, this is most definitely more than a piss in the ocean. A most worthy discovery.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



VARIOUS - Angry Scenes (Angry Scene Records)

Good compilation embracing DIY Ethic. On first playing I thought just another DIY punk comp, but listening to it more it just gets better and better. It is full some of the best punk around, raw and stripped to the bone – just as it should be. There are The Restarts, Drongos For Europe, Dogshit Sandwich, and throwing in their bit of what I call chaos along with other bands I have seen before and hope to see in the future. The best tracks are Contempt, 4PM but you get good raw punk rock through out. Take a chance on this one. The CD does DIY punk proud indeed.
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



VARIOUS - Parlour 9 Sessions Vol.1-the Sound Of 'lo-fi Superior' (Parlour 9 Recordings)

website

4 bands, 12 tracks all recorded on very basic gear with no overdubs straight from the practice room and despite any preconceptions is actually better than I thought it would be. First up are London band Salvo who remind me a little of Crass but without all the politics (is that possible?). Next up are another London band Empty Vessels who play quirky child like pop, a bit like Half Man Half Biscuit but half as clever. The Betes Noires from Belfast are up next and play the most mainstream music of the bands on here, but it’s still well within the Lo-Fi confines and their first track is a bit like Joy Division crossed with The Pixies. Last up are the guys behind the record label, Dolium who are the definition of Lo-Fi, hastily recorded, warts and all but still with a good sound. This is a lot different to what I normally listen to but I still enjoyed it and it’s good to see bands who are being creative without the usual constraints of recording studios. For more details go to www.parlour9.co.uk
3 out of 5
Review by Paul



VARIOUS - Class Pride World Wide 3 (Insurgence Records)

website

22 track streetpunk/oi compilation featuring bands from all 4 corners of the globe (how a globe has corners I don’t know but that’s how the saying goes-bit weird that!!) There’s a few bands I’ve heard of, Loikaemie, Discipline, Running Riot and Hard Skin and many more I haven’t, Cervelli Stanki, Curasbun etc. All the bands have put excellent tracks on here and the compilation has been well put together. I can’t think of many more c.d’s where you can find bands from Canada, USA, Germany, Holland, Ireland, Poland, Italy, Hungary, Chile, Yugoslavia, Argentina, Scotland, England and Russia on one c.d. Another good compilation an d well worth checking out. For more details go to www.insurgence.net
4 out of 5
Review by Paul



VARIOUS - Serving the Best in Rock N Roll (Peephole Records)

This is full of snotty nosed punk, in the Ramones kinda vein. Loads of good fast pogo punk, largely American. It’s all foot tapping stuff with a kinda rock & roll high school feel. Most of the bands do sound heavily influenced by the Ramones, but hey ho lets go - it can’t be bad can it? British punk is on the CD too with the Norma Jeans giving it a good shot. Me, I just love the Queers, most of the bands on here take note… Joe it the man. Enjoy and you mixed up punk kids spend your pocket money on this one – a belting 50 tracks!
3 out of 5
Review by Andy



WHISKEY SUNDAY / SNUGGLE - SPLIT 7” (VINEHELL RECORDS)

website

Two songs apiece from melodic San Jose hardcore skate/pop-rockers Whiskey Sunday, distinguished by some superbly effective riffing and memorable tunes and the distinctive sound of Seattle four piece Snuggle who utilize expressive bass runs and delightfully skewed choruses. An impressive taster from two venerable acts.
4 out of 5
Review by Sean McGhee



Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

DVD / Video

SUBHUMNAS - All Gone Live Dvd (Cherry Red Records)

website

A band who need no introduction and that are one of the most successful anarcho punk bands around today. The footage on this dvd is taken from their U.S. tour of 2003 and contains footage from gigs in Chicago, Minneapolis and Milwaukee along with some home movie style footage of the band on the road. With a running time of over 1 and a half hours you get a lot of stuff for your buck and this has got to be essential viewing if you’re a fan of the band. For more details go to www.cherryred.co.uk for more info on the band go to www.citizenfish.com
5 out of 5
Review by Paul




Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Fanzines / Books

Sorry no fanzine reviews this month, please get in touch if you have any you would like including

Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Gigs

THE DESTRUCTORS666 + BYM + ROBOLINT + AK47 - Coventry, Jailhouse (17/07/06)

I bet none of The Destructors666 have children...They seem to pull out of everything! The excuse this time was that some of the gigs on a short tour had been advertised as The Destructors and not Destructors666. I checked their website - & I quote - "Because of this action of mistaken advertisement lead singer Allen Adams doesn't want to give the spiky hordes the chance to slash his throat". What a egotistical big headed wanker! What hordes? They were never big first time around. Mr Adams - Get your head out of your arsehole and read this; If you do not want to be associated with The Destructors then do not use the name at all. You Prick!!!

On the evidence of the turn out at the Jailhouse not one person had actually come to see them anyway (No one knew they weren't playing), as I took it upon myself to ask the 30 odd gathered for the gig.
The energetic middle class posh boys 'Robolint' got proceedings off to a jolly start. Totally unoriginal. They looked like Real Big Fish clones and sounded like RBF/Capdown. The jump suits were a nice touch but apart from the down to earth singer they appeared to be jumped up arseholes. It must be said they have energy of Duracell proportions and were very enjoyable. The songs were all a tad daft and quirky. One was about red packet penguins (The choc bars) Hell they are from Devon....
Next up were the amazingly named 'Barnyard Masturbator' This was not their best performance, the singer seemed a bit irritated by something?, but their set was enjoyable in a metal/punk head nodding sort of way. They ended with a cover of 'Team America' which was well funny with guitarist and drummer seemingly trying to merge with their instruments. The addition of a long overdue bass player has broadened the sound also. Worth checking out also.

Young pups 'AK47' turned out to be the show closers after the proposed headliners the piss poor pop punkers 'Effervescent' had gone home in a huff because they had been asked to headline? (What is wrong with people?). They apparently thought everyone would leave for home after AK47. Wrong!! The promoter stopped doing the door and guess what? In true punk style everyone who hadn't paid and sat outside listening suddenly came in from the beer garden (of course) so they would have had about 40 punters to play to. Their loss.

AK47 are 17/18 years of age and bands like this need to be encouraged. "C'MON AK47" errr....They are a mish/mash of anarcho punk/oi as you would expect looking at the individual members of the band. They played a cracking version of 'Flux's 'Tube Disasters' with the verses all mixed up! They were the band the kids wanted to see and played a fine set. Worth looking out for. Word of advice....Any bands looking to play Coventry....DON'T!!
Reviewed by The Reverend




CONFLIICT + THE VARUKERS + NO CHOICE - Cardiff, Club Fiwba (25/06/06)

I find my self in cardiff to day for 3 cracking punk bands on this Sunday !! well the heavens have open here in cardiff and its dam wet but i am on me way to the venue ! i am well licky6 as the venue is only 10 minutes away !! and as i arrive people are alreadywaiting outside a friend of mine is outside from nottingham so thats an excuse for a beer or 3 ok !! half an hour later i find my self in the venue talking to rat lead vocals with the mighty varukers talking about the next dates for the band !! ok by now the place is getting well full !! and no-choice take the stage never seen them before but there really good old icons style so they fit well in and they have an local follwing so theres pogoing already not a bad set but as ever things are running over time and they soon finish !! cool set by these guys , ok the mighty varukers are up next !! after a 10 minute break the varukers kick in !! ‘’ how do you sleep ‘’, die for your goverment, march of the sas , and a few newer trax and well good to !! these giys are on fine form tonight seen this band so many times over the years and they never bore me a true punk band at there best !! ok back to the newer trax ‘’killing my self to live’’ i love that track, and ‘’ fucked it up again’’ what can i say fucking ace !! , and loads of danceing to !! a well good set !! see you guys soon , ok conflict up next and they have just come back from a two day tour in france !! and straight to cardiff for this gig !! i feel with conflict there getting to find there feet again after a few years break !! but its not done them any harm , ‘’ with tracks like tuff shit micky’’ and theres’’ no-power with out control’’, ripping to day as there ever did this band is still a force to be reckoned with and there was a lot of stage diving to !! after a good hour and half set it was done and i went to stop at a friends house feeling this was truely a great night !! up the punx and i see you lot down the front again really soon.
Reviewed by Adam Ward




CHERRY REDS + FALLEN LEAVES + MENACE - London, Dirty Water Club (23/06/06)

I like this venue but tonight the turnout is poor, probably about 100 have come to see what looks on paper to be a good line up. Anyway, who cares about anyone else when the Kingston crew are in town ? Big Dave has dragged the old guys up to north London to see the Fallen Leaves and they have got the go ahead from the band to tape their set.

The Cherry Reds kick the night off. They are down to a 3 piece as the bassist has taken his daughter to hospital at short notice. Anyway, they persevere with a hired bass guitar and a lead borrowed from Menace. There are definite Adverts/ Saints influences in their music and they make the best of the circumstances. Loads of energy and some good songs. This band have potential, I will be checking them out when they are at full strength. Bought their CD which is well worth a listen.

Next up the Fallen Leaves. Big Dave has been hyping this band forever so expectations are high. The guitarist, Rob Symonds, is an original ’77 man who played with the Subway Sect. Phil King, bass, played with the Jesus and Mary Chain and the singer, Rob Green, was the ‘lounge singer’ at Club Left owned by Bernie Rhodes (Clash manager). A fine pedigree indeed. Rob is suited and booted, a cool customer and, from the off, he is in the zone. This band are very tight and the sound is good. Well rehearsed and note perfect songs are delivered, all new and original material. They remind me in parts of the Gang of Four and also the Monochrome Set and a number of those bands who were around circa 1978/9. A great band who I will definitely see again.

Last up, Menace. I haven’t seen the new line up before so I’m looking forward to this. A few punks gather at the front and we are off. The best I can say about them is that they try hard. The sound is rubbish and they give the impression that it is all a bit ‘punk by numbers’. A real shame. The new singer is a bit of a loon and very lively. We get all the oldies including ‘GLC’ and my favourite ‘C & A’ but it just isn’t their night. Maybe it was just an off night for Menace, don’t write them off just yet.
Reviewed by Woking Pete




SHAKEOUT + FLETCH CADILLAC + JUDDER AND THE JACKRABBITS - Norwich, Marquee (16/06/06)

I hadn't been to this venue before but reminded me of another small Norwich Alternative venue from years gone by The Jacquard Club. This had to be the hottest day of the year so far and with the Marquee obviously exceeding its 150 capacity sweat was litterally dripping from the ceiling. Even before the bands started the bar staff were obviously hot and stressed. Many people I spoke to said they'd never seen so many people squeezed into the place.

When we arrived DJ Skinny Jim was playing a mixture of Garage Rock and some real 'old school' Psychobilly/Rockabilly classics and kept it up between each bands set.

First band up were Judder And The Jackrabbits. I was told that this was only their second gig but you couldn't tell. They put on a really wild performance with the bass player dressed in a black mini-dress and singer John screaming in a nurses dress. These guys should do well with the current popularity of bands like The Grit, Peacocks, Horrorpops and Tiger Army in the Psycho/Punk crossover market. The singer also sings with Norwich Punk band Visual Offence.

Fletch Cadillac play Horror Punk in a style similar to the Misfits. I had seen them before but this was their first gig as a four piece with a second guitarist (also from Visual Offence) beefing up the sound. Great set and a great bunch of guys. They played a good set but were I think hampered a couple of times by the sound regulator - bloody useless thing. If you don't like noise then don't move to a city centre!

Shakeout hadn't played for six or seven years but you wouldn't know it. They blasted through a powerful Psychobilly set of mostly origionals but threw in a couple of covers by the likes of Green Day, The Ricochets and Peter And The Test Tube Babies. The crowd loved it and during the first song one of the PA speakers, a mike stand and several beer glasses were sent flying by the 'dancers'. Kingsmiley the guitarist was wearing a full 1950's style suit and must have been baking in the heat while Rich on double bass looked like he lost several pints of fluid he was sweating so much. How he managed to keep going at such a rate is beyond me. Hope they don't leave it so long before they gig again.

It was good to see some familiar faces from the 1980's/90's Psychobilly scene mixing with the new generation of Punks/Psycho's etc. All in all a great night of raucous fun and if you get the chance to see any of these bands live they are all highly recommended. Whoever put the bill together needs a good pat on the back.
Reviewed by Lord Byron




DEMOB + GUNS ON THE ROOF + HACKSAW - Bristol, Junction (07/07/06)

I keep running into Bristol's HACKSAW and it is as painful as it sounds,they comprise of a drummer(on battered drums)and a guitarist(on marshall amp),they wear strange balaclavas,the drummer looks like james hetfield(metallica)meets a bulldog,the guitarist would prefer it if you jeered not cheered,they have songs about Disorder(the band)not turning up,something about geese and a crowd participation song about bogroll,the participation in this instance is to throw loads of bogroll about the place(provided by the band..bless),they also use an artificial snow machine,they defy belief,talent or any real proof of actually rehearsals and they are probably one of the most entertaining bands you'll likely to see.I guess they could be described as the support bands support band,this is about the height of their fame and they're damn happy about it,they are a band with humour without being a comedy act or,maybe,without actually being much of a band.Well worth catching them live.

GUNS ON THE ROOF,thats a Clash song right,this 4 piece all wear spray-painted white shirts...like the Clash,they give 100% from start to finish..like the Clash,guess who they sound like??? well! actually,no they don't,I'm not sure who they sound like but they do give loads of energy,not just in the performance but also in their songs much like the Clash but these guys aren't mere copyists they do have a few ideas of their own but the over riding thing is that they are an exciting band to watch,they are confident without tipping the scales into arrogance,the singer can hold a note and they can play their instruments and gel together professionally as a band but they don't drift into Green Day territory by just knocking out 3 minute punk/pop songs,these guys have more structure about them,hell,they even do a cover of an Abrasive Wheels song and.as far as I can make out,it betters the original version.Great live band.

DEMOB.I've caught Demob 3 or 4 times over the past 12 months and have always believed that they're better now than they've ever been but this is the 1st time I've seen them in a small venue and being the main band so I intrigued to find out if they were more than just a very good support band.The secret with Demob and indeed,bands of that ilk is that they don't rely on speed or volume or shouting so you don't get that immediate impact of say,Discharge,what you do get is a slow burner,classy song after classy song,starting with WHAT YOU FIGHTING FOR?,firing though the excellent THINK STRAIGHT,plus new stuff like NO MORE TALK mixing with the classic ANTI-POLICE,structured songs,changing paces and a 6 feet 7 inches(probably) of a vocalist right in front of you,you can't help but get involved,mixed with the fact that it was damn hot,it was just like punk gigs used to be.But,Demob hadn't played their ace cards yet,its the latter part of the set when things get serious,singalong with the superb KIDS MAKING A STAND and then,for a laugh,play TEENAGE ADOLESCENCE,its an irresistable blend which gets the crowd really moving(not easy in Bristol)and then they play NO ROOM,the start has an almost "marching band" rhythm to it,the place erupts,its the bass lines that have always sucked me in on this song but in a small venue like this its the the immense power of the song that drives you,if Demob can ever be quoted as having written a true classic of the punk era,then this is it,this is their God Save the Queen or their New Rose or their White Riot and with the audience behind them this is probably Demob at their most exciting,at least until the play the next song.....1,2,3,4 WHITE RIOT,in this environment they do it better than the Upstarts,they do it better than Sham,probably be pushing it to say they do it better than the Clash(nobody can) but this can be the result of these "slow burner" bands,repeatedly hitting you with quality until you finally surrender.Highly recommended....and all this for a fiver,well done the TRAILER PARK TRASH lads for promoting this venue and what with a secret BIG gig next week and mdc in the coming months,its actually good to be in Bristol again.
Reviewed by Mo




PUNX PICNC - Derby (08/07/06)

Well folks i found my self back in old derby again for there punx picnic this year its always a cracker but this year they have a bigger tent for more bands how cool !! ok i get there really earlly to catch the f.t.w.l but due to british rail the trail was over 40mins late getting to derby so i miss em no-worries thou as i hook up with bob later on in the day time for a chat !! check that band out well good !! ok just in time for cupid stunts tho !! with me old mate marcus on bass !! a good frind of mine from the mermaid days!! Remember them i do just a bout loads of scrumpy man !! swill it down spew it up !! sounds good to me ok they as ever play a blinding set to get the day off right , loads of people here from nottingham ,london,newcastle, all over the fucking country as mr harper once said !! ok i get me a beer from me bag bring your own of course !! the local off licence is doing a roaring trade to day !! ok back to the bands up next are the eastflied lads like me they play go all –over the country in search of punk rock , they get all the punters up rocking to there rail tunes , well good set all ways enjoyable me thinks more beer also , ok i just have to pop for a jimmy in the woods as the loos are all ready indisposed well you get to them to many punters ok !! just time to get back to see paul carter doing his own brand of punk rock music most funny guy i must admit , ok dogsflesh next from newcastle , good mates of mine and they sound like broken –bones to can not be bad !! they are well hardcore these guys are loads of studded jackets here i can tell you !! with trcks like ‘’physco’’ & ‘’out of my head’’ you gotta love ‘em ‘ a well good set by these guys i can tell you lots of stage diving to cool or what ok !! 3cr up next these are anothere funny punk band and there just right for to-day as boggy is a well funny guy , frying tonight !!! i hope so !! cool set again but a little short due to running over time but well good !! ok pound of flesh next local heros , ‘’ lead by the throat a classic track by these guys and we get it in the set plus all the othere classics a really warm welcome for these guys and a stage invasion to boot , do not miss these guys a well force to be reconed with ok !! anothere beer & jimmy and ready for flithpack from scotland not my cup of tea but as heavy as fuck !! not to many people stopping to se them but i do and in the end not a bad set !! ok the drongos for europe up next !! and the tent is full again the last band of the night for me as i gotta get a train back !! but i did here later on ,on the train back home that pain the headlineing band did not turn up ?? ok back to the drongos we get spirt bomb ,punk rock radio,who the fuck are you !! and the kids were loving it me to this band get better and better a far cry from digbeth civc hall days back in 81 me thinks but like me they are still loving punk rock and doing a dam fine job of keeping it going !! so up the drongos and punk rock i love ya !! a massive thanks to lee & plum the promotors for putting the gig well good . a really enjoyable day see you lot soon
Reviewed by Adam Ward




RAT SCABIES AND BRIAN JAMES PLAY "DAMNED, DAMNED, DAMNED" - London, 100 Club (06/07/06)

30 years to the day that the Damned played their first official gig at the 100 Club supporting the Sex Pistols, they're back. Well two of them are, but as they were looking to play their way through "Damned, Damned, Damned", they were the imporant two. After all Brian wrote all those songs and he and Rat defined the chaotic sound of that classic LP. Slowly the bar filled up with familiar faces like Gaye Advert, Dee Generate, Steve Diggle, Jake Riveria and the Godlike Genius of Nick Lowe until it was pretty darn rammed in there.

First on, in a bizzare turnaround, are the Sex Pistols. Well, not really, in fact it's a tribute band. The "Steve" is too thin and well spoken, the "Rotten" resembles the one from the chubby late-period PIL days more than 77, "Cookie" is wearing shorts(!) and the "Sid" (surely it should have been "Glen" at the 100 Club!), although looking quite like Mr Beverley, also resembled the new Dr Who facially. They cranked out the numbers pretty well, though struggling a bit through the Sid material ("Mr Rotten" left the band halfway through, history repeating itself). .

Next up was TV Smith, who was great as always. A shame Gaye didn't strap on the bass as has been rumoured, btu with songs of the quality of "No Time To be 21", "The Day We Caught The Big Fish" and of course "Gary Gilmore's Eyes", no one was complaining. .

As it ticked round to ten o'clock, Rat, Brian, ex-Stone Roses bassist Mani and singer Casey Chaos arrived on stage. Rat immediately disposed of a cymbal, looking a tad nervous, but all fears were dispelled when they hammered into "New Rose". The old magic between Brian and Rat was still there in abundance, seeing them spark off each other even in 2006 was such a glorious sight and sound it was easy to ignore Mr Chaos who didn't seem to know all the words and when he did rendered them a touch too "Death Metal" for my liking. Plenty of energy and enthusiasm to give him his due, but his voice just didn't measure up. Mani stood there stunned, looking at Rat after every song, presumably shocked at the energy and dynamic attack of the bloke, his day job in Primal Scream probably seeming very dull in comparison. The sound that Rat and Brian summoned up hadn't aged a jot and was as fresh as tomorrow's milk. Perfect noise. .

They sped through "Help" (the only non-"DDD" cut played), "So Messed Up", "Stab Your Back" and "I Fall", slightly struggled with "Feel The Pain" and Mani blew his intro to "Neat, Neat, Neat", but all carping aside it was a terrific show, 40 minutes flew by and they were gone. The set really recalled the energy, drive and feeling of 76 much better than a polished 2 hour set would have. Before the gig Rat and Brian said that if people said they still had it afterwards it would have been worth it. Well I'm hear to say they still have got it and so much more!
Reviewed by Ian PTP




PHILO & THE GUITAR - Blackpool, Blue Room (25/06/06)

Following England's 1-0 victory over Ecuador, something from Germany flew in well beneath the radar of the RAF this day. Her name is Philomena, the young punk rocker from Dortmund. With a pocket of racist pasty faced England fans in the corner who had probably never travelled further then the Isle Of Man, Philo introduced herself to a curious musical audience and said how the punk movement was bigger in her home city.

This was a fortunate and lucky audience to catch her spontaneous appearance, and those with the musical ear showed her their appreciation. For her UK debut she strummed her guitar and gave us 3 original songs with a slightly political tone, although the words were all in the Germann language, her passion, intelligence, and anger came through in the tone of her voice.

Two of the songs were from her newly recorded CD which contains 12 of her own self penned tracks. How nice it was for her to open this musical open mike night with an amazing dazzling performance.

With a clear and concise introduction, she connected well with the early evening crowd. She preceded up to 6 acts, and she was the only solo artiste with her own songs. This is a young singer who has so much to say, and it is beautiful listening to her say it. Philo & the guitar have played festivals in Hamburg and Berlin, and to make her first UK performance at The Blue Room was a fitting tribute to this music bar. She is due due play at a festival in Rostock, and make an assault on the German (Dortmund) TV version of popstars. The world is her oyster, and it will be a pleasure to watch her conquer. Although it was a one off, with acts like this, Blackpool is a blessed town. She is the special one.

Other acts appearing were 'Decade To Libery' who were a well accomplished guitar band, and 'When People Become Numbers' who were memorable and hard core.
Reviewed by Stu Logan




RAT SCABIES AND BRIAN JAMES PLAY "DAMNED, DAMNED, DAMNED" - London, 100 Club (06/07/06)

This gig was set up to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the Sex Pistols/Clash/Damned etc playing at the 100 club. Famously attended by 10.000 people when it only holds 300 (I will admit I wasn’t there aged 13 !). Tickets were £20 available from a mailing address and strictly limited. Fortunately, I was one of the lucky bastards.

The 100 club hasn’t changed at all in the last 30 years so the scene was set for a realistic re run of punk history. As I descend the stairs and enter the dancefloor there is Johnny Rotten. He shouts “30 years ago the Damned supported us, now it’s the other way round” before launching into ‘Belsen was a gas’. I rub my eyes, is it 1976 ? Unfortunately not (although if it was I’d probably be unemployed). No, it’s the Sex Pistols Experience and they were (wait for it) awful. Until, that is, Johnny left the stage and ‘Sid’ (sneers and all) runs through a medley of ‘c’mon everybody’, ‘something else’ and ‘my way’. Excellent. Punk tribute bands ? Surely a contradiction in terms!

Next up, TV Smith with his one man show. About the sixth time I’ve seen him do this but, as ever, he is cooking on gas. We get all the old favourites and a couple of new ones. He goes down well with the older crowd. I can’t wait to see him with a full band.

Scabies and James are up. With them on vocals is Casey Chaos from Amen and on bass, Mani from the Stone Roses/Primal scream. Straight into ‘new rose’. Fucking fantastic. The club comes alive we are back in 76 or maybe heaven or even hell). We then get the run through of the first Damned album in no particular order. The atmosphere is electric. Scabies (wearing glasses!) is awesome, he batters the hell out of the drum kit. James is spaced but on his game, note perfect. Mani is crapping himself; he doesn’t know the chords and the crowd are too close! Casey is doing his best to ignore the chants of ‘fat wanker’ and trying to remember the words. We just get the first album and they’re gone. No encore. In true ’76 style, a fight ensues. A great gig. If I had any complaints they should have had an older singer…Gene October would have been great.
Reviewed by Woking Pete




VARUKERS + GREENLANDWHALE FISHERS + NIHLISTS - Birmingham, Market Tavern (16/06/06)

Well folks i found my self on home ground this week with the mighty varukers, and a band i first saw in brum two years ago from norway called the greenlandwhale fishers classic irish folk punk , ok i get there as early as i do to catch up with a few old buddies i have not seen for a while dek drongo being one of them whos putting the gig on to night , the place is filling up nicely now and we get the first band of the night the nihilist from dudley well good band , they get better every time i see them a mix of rancid early,and early 80’s style punk with an anti-nowhereleague cover to boot ‘’ i hate people’’ and they hate me cool set by these guys i can tell you on this hot summers eve in digbeth ok , next up we got the whale fishers , we get the folk irish tin whistle intro, then a surge into fast hyper irsh folk punk rock , they got a new cd out now not sure of the trax but cool shit and a lot of stage diving i can tell you !! and we get a track called ramones but its not the ramones track ramones but still as good as ever, they play for a good hour and every track a good drinking song to drink to !! ok time for a beer me self !! ok the varukers are getting ready to take the stage!! Ricardo the drummer is just checking every thing , and biff is still not sure whats going on !! but who cares , ok we get the intro ‘’ how do you sleep’’ then rat jumps on stage and as ever goes for it !! he all ways gives hundred and ten percent , and some times i wonder how he does it !! a cool guy with lots of punk attuide , still after all these years , we get march of the sas ,soilder boy ,don’t wanna be a victim,genocide,modium for destruction , all classic a well good set there was a few promblems with the mic cutting out but hay its punk rock !! a really good night , all the bands played really well !! amothere cool night at the tavern .... Adam ward. GREENLAND WHALE FISHERS ,D/S/S,CONER BOIZ,THE CUNTS LIVE MOESLEY SKATE PARK 17/6/06 Well i find my self in a part of birmingham i used to live over ten years ago now and it still has not changed thank god , crusty as ever , ok tonight venue is at the skatepark a nice venue on this hot night , i get there as the corner boiz ar getting ready to set up for the gig as h/c andy getts his bass ready to bang hell out of it !! and play some punk as well !! we get the cracking ‘’ happy ever after’’ ,to start with then then the usal trax , party polital bullshit etc , a short but ripping set by these guyz ,and getting some people danceing , the cunts are up next from eversham i really like this band a young band but full of enegy like me !! ha ha i dont think ok lots of reggy style punk here to pogo to dont know the trax but go see ‘em ‘there good , lots of people in to night plus older faces !! good to see there not all stopping in to watch whos wants to be a million air !! ok the band a lot of people includeing me self come to see the dogshit sandwich !! yes please !! a one off gig for ‘em ‘ so they say i hope not !! we get newer trax ‘’ the grannys are coming’’ ‘’lisa was happy and nacked in the woods’’ altogethere now for the chours ‘’ bang ,bang,bang,bang,bang, cool stuff here and a few older trax to arse !! and the same to you !! loads of dancing one of the best sandwich gigs i been to ‘’please please do more gigz rich !!! , ok the fishers again tonight but thats cool drinking music on this hot night is cool by be , go get there new cd’down and out !! is brill a great night up the brummie punx ..
Reviewed by Adam Ward




DISCHARGE + THE CUNTS - Bristol, Junction (16/07/06)

Well I traveled to Bristol the next day from Penzance to see discharge again as the weather is so nice its got to be done , it took most of the day again but I know its well worth it !! ok tonight’s venue is the stokes croft I really like this venue as its a well old pub !! and full of old crusty punks like me !!so I am expecting some old faces tonight !! ok I meet a few punks out side that are drinking the Sunday afternoon away and have a chat with them about tonight’s show , they are looking forward to it as they said they keep managing to miss Discharge as they keep spending all there money on cider !! not a bad thing !! ok doors are open and Pete from the late Icons Of Flith is on the door a cool chap and its nice to see him !! Straight to the bar for a drink me thinks and I see the cunts are on tonight with discharge a good young band to me sound like early culture shock!! I have a chat with them as I seen them in Brum not so long ago with the Dogshits!! Ok the play is filling up and I was right a few old faces in jimmy ripcord [old mermaid days] and Gabba Chaos uk, no supporting a pony tail [hippy punk ?], ok the cunts getting ready to go on stage and I get way layed in to the beer garden and I miss the cunts , hay its punk I will see them again !! the place now is like an oven!! So more cool drinks I need I think , and the lads take the stage , and every body comes in from out side so now its even hotter !! we get Never Again , You Take Part Increating The Sytrem,Decontrol and Rat gets into the crowd for that one !! sing along a rat, state control,etc etc, yet another cool gig it started slow but finished on a hi the weather a bit hot for danceing me thinks !! a ripper night again !! will this nightmare never stop !! I hope not !!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




BIRMINGHAM - Market Tavern (26/07/06)

Well ok folks back to the punk rock in brum tonight as i make me way to the tavern for a punk filled night with some local punk bands plus some duth & scottish band called uk death charge !! seemed to have heard that name somewere before ?? ok a few peole in to night but not a packed house which is a shame , well never mind a few old faces in tommy drongo , dek drongo, and of course my old mate hardcore andy , {da coner boiz} ok uk death charge up first we get a mix old style punk rock here , a bit like the swellybellys, mixed with 4 past midnight plus expoitled over tones not a bad little set , and a few people up dancing to this scottish punx !! well a nothere very warm night so its plenty of cold drinks me thinks , and we move on to noctophyle from holland , a bit to heavy metal for me fast and in some places hardcorish but its been done before not bad , good luck on the uk tour they are on at the moment to them ,ok da corner bois what can i say this band is gonna go far not because i know them its just the shear enegy of the band and cracking vocals by h/c andy , and that fav track ‘’happy ever after’’ ?? are we? Ok loads of slamming to them and good job to for the local lads ok ,radiation angels up next last band for me of the night , they have not been playing for a while ,but still sound as good as ever ! but i think they need to gig more often , like ever week !! and as many places as possiable to get going as there is deff a cracking band in side thouse lads i know it !! a good night at the tavern , and catch the corner bois live at a venue to you really soon !!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




SUBHUMANS + NO CHOICE - Bristol, Lakota (14/07/06)

Never been to the LAKOTA before,hope I don't have to go again,it just felt uncomfortable all night,maybe a light or two about the place would help.Anyways,after missing the 1st band it turned out the the expected support band couldn't make it,so,"good evening Bristol,we're NO CHOICE",surely not the RIOT CITY RECORDS lot in the early 80's,but,hell,yes it was and they were just as good as I always imagined they'd be,I've only ever heard their 1st ep on the aforementioned RIOT CITY and it stood out at the time for being different,well,they've still got that approach to their music,nice tunes and I could still hear that distinctive bass sound and they're confident on the stage,all in all,a nice surprise and a quality band.

Speaking of which..."WE'RE THE SUBHUMANS"announces Dick,just in case we were unsure!!!straight into ALL GONE DEAD and off he bounces like a deranged muppet,unlike the crowd who were just deranged,THE SUBHUMANS really do pull a real cross section of people,skinheads,dreadlocked punks,straights,even the guy next to me had a perm and a thick gold chain,I suppose the secret is that they know how to write a damn fine tune which they churn up with punk,raggae,ska n dance beats and they seem to do it with such ease,they plough through oldies like NEW AGE,PARASITES and NOTHING I CAN DO mixed with the excellent THIS YEARS WAR and BUSINESSMEN,the dancing mob down the front were having a wail of a time,unfortunately,the security at this venue seem to think every movement was a fight breaking out,nothing too heavy but it showed that they probably weren't used to a punk audience and its stage diving antics. The band themselves have aged well,nothing they play sounded dated(to these ears at least),they play with a solid and assured maturity and they seemed happy just be on stage playing,its an honesty you kind of expect from this band. Finishing on MICKEY MOUSE IS DEAD they then did 2 encores finally ending the night with RELIGIOUS WARS,not the hottest or sweatiest of gigs but seeing the SUBHUMANS playing usually outweighs any bad points like bad venue,the odd fight and absolutely no stage lighting.
Reviewed by Mo




POUNDAFLESH + CERTIFIED + THE NAGS + BARNYARD MASTURBATOR - Nottingham, Old Angel (18/07/06)

It is not my intention to become Adam Ward on these here pages but I decided to trade the West Mids for the East and follow the 'Punk Against Destructors666' (PAD) Tour. To say this gig was 'hot' in every sense of the word is a understatement.

80 heads on a Tuesday night is very respectable and it just goes to show that if the scene works as one it can be strong.
I have decided to incorporate with this review a hardness rating as each band contained some tasty morsels so too speak.
First to stoke the flames were the girly thrash of BYM. Another competent set by a band that is still developing. It is time for some new songs though. The one new one I hadn't heard before was 'Ode to Oi' - Top stuff.
Hardness Rating: The guitarist is about 6,6 and is a hulk of a bloke but with 2 girls and 1 thin waif in the band also that keeps the 'rock' percentage down to 34%
Leicester's 'The Nags' are a top bunch. They play a brutal hardcore, have a nice line in tattoos and say very little in between songs Whack!. My criticism is that they are a little static on stage. Wallop! Need to loosen up a wee bit. Kapow! Discharge is a big influence on the band and the set even included a cover of 'Feeble Bastard' along with originals such as 'Disease' 'War' & New War' - Short, sharp, shock! Loved it.
Hardness Rating: With Big Daz at the helm and a guitarist that sports a football hooligan group on his instrument (oerr!) they are granite. The vocalist does have enough muscle for the whole band but the rhythm section need to beef up. 77%
Local nutters 'Certified666' as they called themselves on the night intro'd with some stinging vitriol for the lame Destructors666 who should have been playing.

Now the venue was as full as it got and included Tezz of Discharge who came to support. Vocalist Sean spat out buckets of venom and the mercury rose with every beat. How people could dance in this heat. It was now at sauna levels and we felt that the sun had actually paid 3 quid to get in. Burning! If you've not seen this band yet check them out but don't spill their pints. They hammer out a crunching brand of 1982 style UK punk. Assassination cities finest.
Hardness Rating: Nice blokes don't get me wrong. But with minimal skin visible due to countless tats, a drummer with a lack of teeth and a menacing pair on guitar/bass - This is one band you don't want to meet down a dark alley. Rougher than a badgers arse. 89%

Finishing off the jamboree was the stream lined new look 'Poundaflesh' - The band were a lot better/tighter than last time I saw them. They refused to let the temperature die down. I noticed that my legs had began to melt. The vocalist called for some movement from the throng amassed but it was just too much to expect. There was more 'air' on Duncan Goodhew than there was to breath in this place. If people had of danced I think the friction caused would have ignited the place. Good display from a band now refinding their feet.
Hardness Rating: Good tattoos again and plenty of them over the singer & guitarist, who also with his bald head and long beard gives a menacing edge. The bassist could do with a hot meal or 2 though!! 60%
4 localish bands for 3 quid showcasing the East Mids finest talent bar that bird from Coalville who shoots ping pong balls out her minge. Class.
Reviewed by The Reverend




DISCHARGE + THE CUNTS - Bristol, Junction (16/07/06)

Hello hello,whats all this? The JUNCTION couldn't hold more than 100 people and DISCHARGE are playing there? Well,its not so much a secret gig as more a "low key" gig,DISCHARGE played the "much bigger" BIERKELLER a short time back but their van broke down so they arrived late and there was no soundcheck etc etc,so this gig was arranged so the good people of Bristol could see DISCHARGE in all their formidable glory.....erm????

Anyways,THE CUNTS were probably the youngest people in the place and had to put up with the old hands shouting "what a bunch of cunts" etc,well,you can imagine? fair play to them though,they played a well rehearsed set and were a darn sight better than many a support band I've seen before but,well?nothing really stuck out,ok,it was a sunday night,it was really bloody hot and I had to be up at 5am the next day but even now i'm trying to rack my brain for what they sounded like or even how they looked.

Perhaps the aforementioned hotness was to blame,maybe it was just too low key or just too unbelievable that DISCHARGE would play such a tiny venue but the turn out was pitiful,maybe 70 or 80 people for a band that influenced 1000's and,to tell the truth,they were awesome,I saw their recent BIERKELLER gig and was less than impressed,even to the point that all other positive reports I heard of them I dismissed instantly thinking it was just old punks living in the past wanting this DISCHARGE line up to be as good as the old,they were never going to be but in the close confines of the JUNCTION, TEZZ,BONES,RAINY AND TONY make a superb sound,LOOK AT TOMORROW,NEVER AGAIN NIGHTMARE CONTINUES,slices of punk heaven,new stuff like HYPE OVERLOAD AND WAR IS HELL sits pretty comfortably with the classic REALITIES OF WAR and FIGHT BACK,even MORE I SEE gets an airing.I kind of feel for TONY,he has no instrument to hide behind but he really tries to work a pretty apathetic audience,you almost feel he wants to have a laugh and a joke but he just pulls himself back in time to realise the people he has behind him,after all,DISCHARGE are hardly yer good time rock n roll band.Anyways,did I mention it was hot,well think on because we also had to have the doors shut because of the noise,jesus christ,I nearly passed out,TESS claimed he was melting pounding away at the back while both BONES and RAINY kept pretty quiet and hardly moved all night,in fairness,there wasn't anywhere they could of moved. So,all the greatest sounds this band ever made were there,mixed in with some new ones,an extended DECONTROL and finishing on STATE VIOLENCE this was a strange but superb gig,I've never sweated so much while standing still,I feel DISCHARGE should be playing bigger venues with better audiences but maybe that time has now gone,I'd like to think I'm totally wrong because they still make a sound that excites,perhaps Bristol is just too laid back.
Reviewed by Mo




DISCHARGE - Belfast, Bunker (22/07/06)

Well folks i find my self in belfast on a very warm night i can tell you !! and of course i am at the discharge gig in the city tonight!! First time here so i am looking forward to the gig !! i get there as the surport bands are ariving , it was to be running riot but them cancelled , so a different band plus a anothere band , so thats a lot of help ok !! i am in for the kill tonight , and i am busy chating with some belfast punx on the punk gigs in town are there many ?? and the first band take the stage a local band with a local following so the kids new the songs reminds me of the filaments type of music !! not bad a quite pogoy , well the second band up , and these remind me of the casulites large spikes of hair and sounding like flux of pink indains cool shit , as i said i do not know the name or the songs of the bands but dam good !! a really good night so far loads of pogoing and beer going every wear !! ok the siens go up for discharge in belfast tonight and we get the blood runs red, never agian , state control ,decontrol,you deserve me, new lp a cracker i think !! etc, the grownd goes ape shit !! i even bang me head on a speaker a get a cut ot two , well i have not seen action like this for years there belfast lads are really going for it !! , a fantasic gig by discharge , well worth the trip to belfast it only took me twelve hours to get there !! cracking or what see you lads very soon i hope ..
Reviewed by Adam Ward




UK SUBS - Cannock, Rock Café (20/07/06)

Well fellow punkers found me self at cannock tonight to see that famous punk band the uk subs that never let you down , well they d’ont me ever !! two surports to night but i miss the first one and the second band sound like the misfits very good i must admit on yet a very warm night again to night , not to sure of the name , but dam fine band , i had a little chat with mr harper him self on dates coming up etc , he said he got leeds bradford etc, will the subs necver stop touring i hope not , ok its time and its well packed tonight and you can breath its that hot, and the subs tonight ,have one vibrator on on bass & one goldblade on gutiar , with jamie on drumms , the cracking young drummer well good , ok we get the squat 96, stranglehold ,warhead,party in paris , all the cool tracks that you never get board of hearing loads of stage diving and lots of pogoing , its that hot half way therough the set that the subs take a ten miunte break !! and who can blame them me to for a cool refreshing pint , and once again take the stgae for more subs hits , a brill night as ever with these guys but it always is !!!! see you lot in blackpool really soon .…
Reviewed by Adam Ward




NIHLISTS + THE DEADITES - Langley, Crosswells (13/07/06)

Well folks yet another great gig at the crosswells if you have never been here i surgest you do cool place for gigz in the blackcountry , ok , we got the nilhlists & the deadites young bands but well good , not many in tonight as its a week day night , but hay who cares , i am here , ok there are more bands on like ramman , plus one more but i have managed to miss them , so the nilists are on to me they sound like young rancid with gbh , overtones well good , good band and i reckon will go far , a few people dancing as it a very warm night again , and a lot of people are at the bar, who can blame them ok !! great set by these guys and theres a break for a while then we get the deadites , never seen these guys befor but they have a few shows lined up with some bigger bands like the bus station loonies on the 5th of august at moesley skate park !! another cool venue ok as i said never seen them befor so i am looking forward to it we get a mix of the expolited with the misfits and demented are go , a bit rough but with a lot more work this band will do well !! i did not know any of the songs but they did the job, as i said i missed a few bands so it was a short night but a good one , look out for these bands there gonna go far !!!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




PAUL CARTER - Leicester, Sumo (25/07/06)

Do I get a award for more reviews than A Ward this month? (Geddit?) If you are reading Sir, which I do doubt as this aint about 'Discharge' (zzzzzz) please note we the readers are slightly bored with your Discharge reviews. Go and see a proper band!! Broaden your horizons. Masturbate - Anything! I've seen them (Discharge) 5 times in the last year or so, and they have been terrible every time. You appear to be stalking them? Don't get me wrong I like the band but lets stop kissing ass to get in shows free! Tell it like it is!!!

Tonight I took a trip to Leicester. Why? Good point and well made. Gigs here are often liberally sprinkled with punters. Tonight I fancied something different. So not only did I not have chips for dinner, I also paid to get in like a good chap and decided to watch Paul Carter support a orchestra! Oh yes. Bizarre or what?!?

The first support of the night was a DJ....Hmmm FUCK THAT! I sat outside in the venues court yard and took in the view of Leicester.....Bars, err...bars and more bars, in fact more bars than Wormwood Scrubs, all very well populated with rowdies as well. Not bad for a Tuesday. The omens were good.

After some grog it was time for the DJ to rest and the real work commenced for Paul Carter, who looked like he'd been tangoed ( Dressed head to foot in orange - So last year. Lime is the colour of 2006!)

Carter started the nights set which proceeded the DJ playing the 'Benny Hill' TV theme tune by playing the 'Benny Hill' theme tune himself with Kazoo. Classic. Some new material was aired on the night but the jury is out on that at the minute. As for Carter OG Comps you just can't go wrong with the wit of 'Visit to the Porno Shop' the sorrow of 'Depression' and the jolly sing-a-long of 'I Hate Work' - All good in any bodies book.

For me the Carter experience is best seen live. I can't listen to a 17 track acoustic album at home. I live on a scrap yard and you just can't hear it.Tonight PC (& he's anything but!) cussed and introduced himself to a non punk crowd, most of whom were called Tarquin or Jasmine but seemed to enjoy his folky punk bards though some seemed shocked to hear the immortal words 'Fuck' or 'Off' sang out loud in public. Outrageous!

If you've not seen him before do so before he moves with the times and either quits playing or gets a band to progress/prolong his career. Good on him for trying something new and playing to a different crowd, bar me of course. Paul you are my Discharge. HAhahahahahahah!!! (Evil laugh)
Reviewed by The Choirboy




SEX PISTOLS EXPERIENCE - Weston Super Mare, Hobbits (22/07/06)

I was in two minds about going to see this lot,on the one hand,punk was never about cover bands,let alone "lookalike" cover bands,but,on the other hand,punk was about open mindedness and,if not accepting what was offered,at least giving it a look. Did they look like the pistols?did they sound like the pistols?did it matter? was it really an experience that could compare to the pistols?

Well,I've never seen the pistols but I've seen the videos and I guess this lot were watching the same videos,any and every pose or snarl or saying that could be credited to the real deal could be seen right there on the stage in front of me,Sid looked like Sid,John was a very passable John,Paul just about looked like Paul and Steve looked like the bassist from Anti Nowhere League???,but squint the eyes a bit and you've got a pretty passable pistol experience,the sid n john expressions are spot on as are the rottenesque one-liners,they've pretty much got the sound right aswell or,at least,they sound like we'd imagined they sounded back in their heyday,really can't knock the vocals either,delivered in fine johnny style both physically and sonically.

They seem to of settled on the look that gave us the God Save the Queen video,except for the john-a-like who went for the tartan look and the sid-a-like who has taken most of his expression from the american tour,but he still looked more like sid that Gary Oldman ever did.

Still,they play pretty much all of the Bollocks lp along with "wanna be me" & "watcha gonna do about it" and even "belsen.."gets an airing,theres even a "sid" bit where we get to hear his particular stab(sick) at fame and old jonesy gets in on the act with "silly thing",they didn't play "rock n roll swindle"for some reason but did finish on "no fun" which would be the only encore they would play coz john is a "lazy bastard"!! This needs to be viewed as a "night of entertainment" rather than a "punk gig",but,to quote the real mr Rotten..."it was allright for a giggle".
Reviewed by Mo




DERBY PUNX PICNIC - (08/07/06)

The weather was as dingy as the event itself. The Derby Punx Picnic what a fucking joke. 1 toilet and a 4 berth tent for the bands to play in. 1 toilet and about 250 free loaders who only seem to come out the woodwork when it is free. You know who you are! No doubt you'll be reading this using someone elses PC. Due to this fact my kids had to suffer drunken, drugged up idiots urinating in front of where they stood. No-one wants to see that. There was adequate woodland. Not that that is pleasant or fair to the animals who live there.

As for the bands well the sound was a joke. PAIN who we travelled to see didn't even turn up. Fine way to get folk down, advertise a big band and just put on drivel like the sexist 3CR. What a joke? What have these got to do with a punx picnic? They even do a song slating us anarchists. Macc Lads punk is not what it is about. They must have been cheap.

The line up was weaker than piss. Drongos For Europe - Old men trying to recreate their teenage years. Where is the youth? Ah yes, FTWL. May be ok after a few praccies. Paul Carter has been playing the same songs for years now. He is novel but boring after 25 minutes or so. And so we go on. Useless crap and old men. No women playing either. HAlf the bands were drunk as hell, but hey it was free so we have to expect second best. Why? I was told by the bassist of one local band they didn't give a shit cos they were getting paid anyway.

Where are the proper bands that use to play this festival like Subhumans,Hellkrusher and the ilk when it was held indoors at the local pub? It was far better there and it was organised not like this disaster.

There was a number of drug pushers also doing the rounds. This is not what we need in the scene. You don't get this crap in London. They know how to have a good old fashioned piss up with bands who care.

Free doesn't always mean good. Cheap yes, in every sense of the word. Bring back proper anarchy & rid ourselves of these pretenders.

SE London Picnic is and will always be the yardstick to measure events by.
Reviewed by Mrs Mary Mopp




DISCHARGE - Penzance (15/07/06)

Well folks its that holiday season and people are heading off to the beach!! so I am off to Penzance to see discharge , so that’s my holiday !! Never been here before so I am really looking forward to it !! I arrive 6.30pmish a whole day of traveling but well worth it when I get there , I get me self straight to the club and its on the front so I do not have to look to far !! we have a local band on with the discharge , I manage to miss them as I am talking to some local punks and having a drink or to as its so hot !! , Well discharge on at 10pm , and its getting there!! Lots of people are getting in the club now !! and before long rainy and bones are on the stage getting ready !!, then we here the intro the possibilities of live destruction !! Rat screams !! and the we already get a a few punters going for it !! We Get Never Again , Decontrol ,State Control ,Ain’t No Feeble Bastard, and a newer track to the set but an old number ‘’The Blood Runs Red’’ cool shit here, the crowd are lapping it up and there are lots of stage diving, every time I see discharge now since they came back they get better & better! and I think a lot of people are happy that they did come back ! and are now sorting the mess Kalvin left behind him as it was a bit of a heavy metal mess !! but the lads are doing a great job of getting it sorted!! A very hot and sweaty gig just the way it should be !! Another string to the discharge lads again !! great night !!! if you were not there you missed a treat !!
Reviewed by Adam Ward




Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene

Scene

Sorry no scene reviews this month, please get in touch if you have any you would like including


Music Releases | DVD / Videos | Fanzines / Books | Gigs | Scene
 


Get Reviewed!
All music releases and books / fanzines, video / dvd's from the following genres will be reviewed;
Punk, Oi!, Psychobilly, Ska Hardcore and Mod.

Feel free to email gig and scene reviews for inclusion.

++++ Made In England +++
Copyright  |  Disclaimer  | Privacy Policy